LibGuides: BIOLOGY 411: Radiation Biology: Where to start?

Reference Works

Why use them?

Reference works, like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, as well as online sources like the ones listed here, can be important sources of background or other information to assist you with research on your term papers. If your interests are broad, this information may help you focus on a manageable research topic. These sources may also suggest books or articles which contain more information on your chosen topics.

Recommended Sources from our Reference Collection

Look for these and others on the main floor beyond the Reference Desk:

Biological Abstracts (1928 - 1997) - REF QH301 .B37

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences - REF QH302.5 .E54 2002

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience – REF RC334 .E53 1999

Facts on File Dictionary of Biology – REF QH302.5 .F38 2005

Science Citation Index (1955 - 2002) - REF Z7401 .S365

Recommended Online Sources

These online web resources may help you in your research.

American Association of Physicists in Medicine Reports
Full-text access to approximately one hundred reports.
1977 - present.

Google Scholar
Use Google's search engine for "scholarly literature" to find subscribed sources on and off-campus. Go to Menu>Settings>Library Links to enable Bloomsburg University links to view subscribed resources. Look for "FullText@BloomU" links.
Government Documents @ Andruss Library
Find online and print government documents in Andruss Library.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
Online version of the classic reference in its 20th ed, 1918
Health Risks from Exposure to Low Levels of Ionizing Radiation: BEIR VII Phase 2.
Health Risks from Exposure to Low Levels of Ionizing Radiation: BEIR VII Phase 2. Full-text access to the report.
How to Read a Research Paper
How to Read a Scientific Research Paper
A four-step guide for students and for faculty written by Ann McNeal, School of Natural Science, Hampshire College, Amherst MA
Lab Tests Online
"At the core of the site is a library of tests, also called analytes, that will provide helpful background for understanding why a test might be given and how to interpret its results. We also explain what kind of sample, or specimen, is required to perfo
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports
Reports (1982- ) from the Center for Disease Control may be searched by keyword and date.
NASA Technical Reports Server
NASA Technical Reports Server. Search publicly available reports from NASA. To limit only to those available lick on “Availability Options” and then “Online.”
Science.gov
Searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
United Nations Scientific Commission on the Effects of Atomic Radiation.
United Nations Scientific Commission on the Effects of Atomic Radiation. Full-text access to fifteen reports back to 1958.