6. Libraries are the intellectual commons where users interact with ideas in both physical and virtual environments to expand learning and facilitate the creation of new knowledge.

6.1 The Library creates intuitive navigation that supports self-sufficient use of virtual and physical spaces
6.2 The Library provides safe and secure physical and virtual environments conducive to study and research
6.3 The Library has the IT infrastructure to provide reliable and robust virtual and physical environments needed for study and research
6.4 The Library uses physical and virtual spaces as intellectual commons, providing access to programs, exhibits, lectures, and more
6.5 The Library designs pedagogical spaces to facilitate collaboration and learning, and the creation of new knowledge
6.6 The Library's physical space features connectivity and up-to-date, adequate, well-maintained equipment and furnishings
6.7 The Library provides clean, inviting, and adequate space, conducive to study and research, with suitable environmental conditions and 
      convenient hours for its services, personnel, resources, and collections
6.8 The Library's physical and virtual spaces are informed by consultation with users

Discussion

Library personnel have made improvements and continue to monitor the way students and other researchers navigate and use the Library building, website, resources, and services. 

In terms of technology, the Library’s website redesign was a noteworthy effort to improve navigation of this research instrument, including an off-campus login on the Library homepage. The Library’s website was upgraded for mobile accessibility.  The ongoing commitment to appropriate technologies is evident in the provision computers, a stable wireless network, large screen monitors and computers in most of the group study rooms, public laptops for checkout and in-Library use, accommodative software for persons with disabilities, and specialized course software.  A modest media creation space is currently available. 

Secure practices are in place for patron information.  The building’s signage is satisfactory.   

 
Between the upholstered furniture and the existing carrels and large study tables, students and other researchers have many kinds of study space from which to choose.  Although the Library is not open 24/7, the hours have been allocated to peak activity times.  The building provides a convenient central location for an intellectual commons and is used by the University for a variety of academic purposes.  The Library building also hosts other University offices. 

Alternate study space is still helpful during peak times, and students have access to designated study space in Kehr Union during finals week.  

Based on various forms of feedback, many patrons are pleased with the Library’s use of physical space.  The Library will continue to observe and solicit feedback on physical space to match confluences of instructional needs, information resources, technological advantages, and students’ habits.  

Note 1:  During the last months of the review period the physical space of the Andruss Library building was much affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. Study rooms were limited to one person, and overall building seating capacity was reduced to comply with Centers for Disease Control guidelines.  From late March to early July, the building was closed.  With a return of the fall semester, and with fewer students on campus, building hours were shortened somewhat. 

Note 2:  In 2015 and early 2016, early in this review period, an annex was built to house the University Police and Telecommunications.  Disruption was temporary but noticeable at the start and end of the construction as staff workspace and student study space were dislocated.  The construction altered the layout of the first floor; fortunately, the square footage for student study space was retained.  On the second floor, staff workspace was reduced; some study carrel space was lost but carrels were relocated with no loss in seat coun

6.1 The Library creates intuitive navigation that supports self-sufficient use of virtual and physical spaces.

ACTIONS 

Online 

During the review period the Library’s website underwent a major redesign and a software upgrade.  A mobile version of the website was also introduced that automatically adapts to any size mobile device screen.  In terms of website design, a judicious number of key starting points were placed on the homepage to create a good start to researchers’ experience.  An example of this selection of specially designed starting points is the Off Campus Access link.  Commonly accessed information like building hours is also prominently linked.  The Library’s catalog includes a service to text call numbers of books and other materials to students.  These texts contain additional location information including the collection and floor on which the item resides. Most recently, the Ebsco Discovery Search (EDS) was limited to materials held at Andruss Library and renamed Search Everything @ BU. 

ADA compliance 

LibGuides CMS provides alternative pages for screen readers and hidden skip-to-navigation links for patrons using adaptive technologies.  Testing of individual webpages for ADA compliance remains to be done.  More information may be found at LibGuides ADA compliance link. 

Physical 

The Library building has an appropriate amount of signage to direct researchers to important locations, research guidance, and services. The building has numerous open spaces for researchers to congregate or simply relax.  The building is ADA compliant with accommodative software on a dedicated computer for those with visual impairments and a dedicated room for individuals needing a space for greater focus.  The Circulation Desk staff are prominently located at the entrance to the building and near the elevators and main stairwell, and therefore well situated to direct people throughout the building.   

To further support students’ gaining an understanding of navigating and significant landmarks within the Library, the Library also offers the General Library Research Tutorial (GLRT) and the video tour of the building; these are posted on the website.  Floor maps are located on the Library’s website and near the building elevators. 

OUTCOMES 

Online 

The Library’s website has gone through two major redesigns during this review period.  These redesigns were accomplished through reviews of best practices among peers, comments from students and faculty, and a collaboration of Library faculty, staff, and administration.  Based on informal student comments during and after instruction, students report a better user experience with the Library’s web site.   

Students and faculty have benefitted from the EDS (Search Everything @ BU) being limited to locally held items, thereby making it easier to access local materials.  InterLibrary Loan remains available for materials held elsewhere. 

Physical  

Students and other researchers can independently navigate the building through accurate signage and human guidance. 

6.2 The Library provides safe and secure physical and virtual environments conducive to study and research.

ACTIONS 

Physical 

There is professional staff in the building during all open hours.  The building is well-lit and has good lines of sight.  All group study rooms have large windows to, again, maintain good lines of sight.  There are emergency phones throughout the building, and administrative protocols are in place for emergencies (e.g., building evacuation). Security cameras are at all entrances and exits; these feed directly to University Police. Reminders to protect personal property from theft are posted on digital signage.  

As a result of Pennsylvania state law enacted to protect children, all University employees, regular and student, have completed child abuse clearances. 

Online 

All sensitive information and services, including Interlibrary Loan, and private network drives, are password protected.  Borrowing records are restricted to Access Services regular and student staff; all student staff must sign a confidentiality agreement as part of their employment.  Borrowing records of patrons, aligning patron to title, are expunged upon the return of the title. 

OUTCOMES   

Physical 

Students and other researchers have access to a safe and secure learning environment in the Library building. University Police is now located adjacent to the Library.  This will enable a quicker response time should a need for police arise. 

Online 

Students’ and other researchers’ borrowing records and identity information is protected and handled in accordance with the ALA Bill of Rights and University rules on digital security

6.3 The Library has the IT infrastructure to provide reliable and robust virtual and physical environments needed for study and research.

ACTIONS 

The Library uses the Keystone Library Network (KLN) Hub, a consortial network support, for remote authentication to its online resources. The University maintains power and digital connectivity. 

Approximately 300 computers are available to students and other researchers; no other location on campus provides as many.  In addition, 20 laptops are available for checkout. These laptops and researchers’ personal devices may access the wireless network.  Three of these laptops are equipped with lockdown browser and webcams for secure test-taking.  All PCs in the building also have the lockdown browser installed.  Scanners, color printers, specialized software for coursework, external DVD drives, and accommodative software for persons with disabilities are available.  Almost all the group study rooms have a computer and large-screen monitors. 

The Library’s network and systems are maintained by the University Technology Support Services.  Desktop support for Library staff and Library faculty is provided by skilled student workers housed within the building and a University computer helpline.  Basic computer support for students and other researchers is provided by student workers. 

Funding for most computers and software is provided by the Office of Technology.   

OUTCOMES 

Students and other researchers have a reliable network to use for connecting to online resources and creating new work. 

Students and other researchers have access within the Library building to hardware and software that is generally sufficient.   

The campus administration demonstrates support through appropriate resource allocation for hardware and software and through maintenance of digital connectivity.   

Students use the computing resources at the Library frequently

6.4 The Library uses physical and virtual spaces as intellectual commons, providing access to programs, exhibits, lectures, and more.

ACTIONS 

The Library building is used often to advance the University’s intellectual life.  The University’s main meeting room, the Schweiker Room, is frequently used by the University for committee meetings, the writing center’s evening tutoring sessions, Friends of the Bloomsburg University Library Association book sales, film screenings, speakers, art displays, and other campus events. Similarly, the Library’s Instruction Classroom, when not being used for information literacy instruction or for open workspace by students, is used by other entities on campus for academic and/or professional instruction and training.  The Library’s conference rooms have been used for meetings and a book discussion series.  Other campus entities such as the Writing & Literacy Engagement Studio’s evening satellite tutoring space, the Teaching and Learning Enhancement (TALE) Center, and the Instructional Media and Design Center are included in the Library building.   

The physical spaces are enhanced with themed displays of artifacts on University and local history, artwork displayed throughout the Library, and digital signage with news alerts and promotions for campus events.  The Library occasionally offers workshops, often in conjunction with TALE, to audiences to promote a new tool or resource, examine an issue related to Library research, or examine the history of the University. 

Virtual exhibits expand the reach of the Library’s programming.  Some of these online exhibits correspond to physical exhibits, programs, and events, while others treat independent topics.  Furthermore, the Library’s home page provides a starting point for campus community research. 

OUTCOMES 

Students, professors, and administration use the Library building frequently to advance the intellectual life of the University.  

Alumni, the campus community, and the community at large often use the Library’s virtual space to further their connections with the University and their study of local history. 

Faculty and students benefit from the Library’s home page because they are able to easily access many resources and get assistance in one space

6.5 The library designs pedagogical spaces to facilitate collaboration and learning, and the creation of new knowledge.

ACTIONS 

The Library’s Instruction Classroom (AL 243), when not in use by the Library faculty for instruction, doubles as additional computer workspace for students and others.  It provides a lecture-style setup, with large front screen and instructor station, and short rows to facilitate small group work.  Within this review period ceiling-mounted microphones and multiple wall-mounted screens were added when the distance education classroom elsewhere on campus was repurposed. With a capacity of 38 persons, it is flexible enough to accommodate small and large classes. Because the Library classroom offers the largest number of computers in one room on campus, it is in high demand by faculty and administration.  Printers are close by.   

The Library provides a variety of study spaces and zones that support learning.  The first floor provides large study tables, a study bar, and a cluster of scanners and color printers for creation; collaboration and conversation are encouraged on this floor.  The second floor has individual and collaborative study spaces, a study bar, and a mix of large tables and individual carrels.  Students have additional computer workspace at the ‘study bars’ created from the former reference and information desks; by adding some wooden stools and a few computers, these substantial desks were put to good use at fairly low cost.   The third and fourth floors have a mix of collaborative group study rooms and individual carrels. By design and practice, the upper floors are places of greater quiet. 

The Library has the most group study rooms of all the libraries in the State System and more than many larger institutions.  In response to student feedback on LibQUAL surveys, the Library has, over time, converted spaces to create additional group study rooms and added two free-standing group study cubicles.   

The Library has a Graduate Student/Faculty Study Room with computers, a printer, and a whiteboard.   

The Library provides ancillary tools, such as rolling white boards and markers, to support students’ group studies and conferencing.  The Library also provides some office services, such as lamination and faxing as well as printing overhead transparencies for student projects.   

OUTCOMES  

Students, as well as Library faculty and subject faculty, have access to a classroom space and technology that encourages collaboration and facilitates learning.  Students have the freedom to select from a variety of workspaces to suit the needs of their studies and collaborative projects.  Students use these spaces heavily and often ask for more.  The Andruss Library is in the enviable and challenging situation of having significantly more group study rooms (32) than its PASSHE counterparts (Millersville University has the second highest number at 14) or even much larger institutions (Towson University has 14), as well as students who have correspondingly high expectations of securing a group study room on each visit. Declining enrollment in this review period has reduced the pressure, but the study rooms remain popular.

6.6 The Library’s physical space features connectivity and up-to-date, adequate, well-maintained equipment and furnishings.  

ACTIONS 

The Library’s Instruction Classroom (AL 243), when not in use by the Library faculty for instruction, doubles as additional computer workspace for students and others.  It provides a lecture-style setup, with large front screen and instructor station, and short rows to facilitate small group work.  Within this review period ceiling-mounted microphones and multiple wall-mounted screens were added when the distance education classroom elsewhere on campus was repurposed. With a capacity of 38 persons, it is flexible enough to accommodate small and large classes. Because the Library classroom offers the largest number of computers in one room on campus, it is in high demand by faculty and administration.  Printers are close by.   

The Library provides a variety of study spaces and zones that support learning.  The first floor provides large study tables, a study bar, and a cluster of scanners and color printers for creation; collaboration and conversation are encouraged on this floor.  The second floor has individual and collaborative study spaces, a study bar, and a mix of large tables and individual carrels.  Students have additional computer workspace at the ‘study bars’ created from the former reference and information desks; by adding some wooden stools and a few computers, these substantial desks were put to good use at fairly low cost.   The third and fourth floors have a mix of collaborative group study rooms and individual carrels. By design and practice, the upper floors are places of greater quiet. 

The Library has the most group study rooms of all the libraries in the State System and more than many larger institutions.  In response to student feedback on LibQUAL surveys, the Library has, over time, converted spaces to create additional group study rooms and added two free-standing group study cubicles.   

The Library has a Graduate Student/Faculty Study Room with computers, a printer, and a whiteboard.   

The Library provides ancillary tools, such as rolling white boards and markers, to support students’ group studies and conferencing.  The Library also provides some office services, such as lamination and faxing as well as printing overhead transparencies for student projects.   

OUTCOMES  

Students, as well as Library faculty and subject faculty, have access to a classroom space and technology that encourages collaboration and facilitates learning.  Students have the freedom to select from a variety of workspaces to suit the needs of their studies and collaborative projects.  Students use these spaces heavily and often ask for more.  The Andruss Library is in the enviable and challenging situation of having significantly more group study rooms (32) than its PASSHE counterparts (Millersville University has the second highest number at 14) or even much larger institutions (Towson University has 14), as well as students who have correspondingly high expectations of securing a group study room on each visit. Declining enrollment in this review period has reduced the pressure, but the study rooms remain popular.

6.7 The Library provides clean, inviting, and adequate space, conducive to study and research, with suitable environmental conditions and convenient hours for its services, personnel, resources, and collections.

ACTIONS 

The study environment in the Library building is clean, well-lit, and well maintained.  The building has designated areas for conversation and group work as well as areas for individual quiet study.  The air conditioning and heat are satisfactory for the most part.  The Library works with University Facilities to address leaks and water seepage. 

The Library has 290 well-maintained individual study carrels, 174 of which have computers.  Additionally, the Library offers 32 group study rooms; 22 large tables, each with six chairs; and 79 soft seating units for student collaboration and study. 

The Library is open for a total of 98 weekly public service hours.  The Library faculty provide research assistance from 11 AM to 9 PM Monday through Thursday, with additional hours Friday through Sunday.  The main service desk for the building, the Circulation Desk, is staffed every hour that the building is open.  The Library is open even when classes are cancelled, and selected Library personnel are considered Essential Personnel in order to keep the Library building and website open and functioning in these circumstances.  The Library began offers later hours on Friday evening during the regular semester—closing at 7pm instead of 4:30pm—and extended weekend hours for two weeks at the end of the semester to accommodate students preparing for final exams and projects.   

Regular Fall and Spring Semester hours are: 

Monday through Thursday – 7:30am to 12midnight 

Friday – 7:30am to 7pm 

Saturday – 9am to 5pm 

Sunday – 12noon to 12midnight 

Late night study space is available Sunday through Wednesday evenings from 12 midnight until 2 am in two front lobby spaces that can be secured separately after the main building closes.  Students provide their own computers for late night studying, and the Library provides student worker monitors for the space.  

The Library has collaborated with Student Affairs throughout this review period in providing extra study spaces on campus during finals week in Kehr Union.   

OUTCOMES 

Even with a decline in enrollment over this review period, students and other patrons use the building a great deal, with a weekly gate count for 2016-17 through 2018-19 in the range of 33,856 to 34,888 visitors per week. 
The individual study carrels, as well as the group study rooms and tables, are heavily used by students and other patrons. 

Although there is always a demand for 24/7 service, patrons have access to 98 hours per week of operation, plus extended study hours at the end of the semester.  Use fo the late-night study hours is light but picks up in the second half of the semester.  Not all students are aware of this option and Library personnel continue to work on informing students. 

As a result of past collaborative work between the Library and Student Affairs, students regularly have study space in Kehr Union during finals week each semester. Following a discussion of student needs, Student Affairs personnel designated space, and together the Library and Student Affairs advertised the new options through posters and social media.  

6.8 The Library’s physical and virtual spaces are informed by consultation with users.

ACTIONS 

The Library has actively solicited input through several avenues and has responded to this feedback.  Researchers may leave comments using the online Suggestion Box.  Whiteboards have been used at the entrance to the Library for informal suggestions.  The Library collected data and comments from students, faculty, and staff using the LibQUAL survey twice during the review period.  LibQUAL survey feedback was analyzed for themes and posted on the Library blog in a special topic section entitled, “You Spoke. We Listened.”  In addition, these responses were available through the Library’s website and were also displayed on the Library’s large screen televisions.   

The Library has been responsive to the Library Advisory Committee (LAC) and to its undergraduate and graduate student members.  Previously there had been undergraduate representatives but no graduate students; in this review period the Director worked with Dean of Graduate Studies and the Graduate Council to secure graduate student representation. 

OUTCOMES 

The Library personnel have benefitted from the feedback because it gives both confidence and direction for how to proceed.  Students and other patrons benefit from the improvements they suggest based upon their experiences. 

Students and other patrons have confidence in the Library’s personnel to make changes based on their feedback.  The Library has consistently addressed concerns indicated in LibQual surveys, and students' and other users' perceptions of the library continue to improve. In 2015, only one survey question response indicated an average perceived service level below the minimum level (community space for group learning and group study), while in 2018 no survey question responses indicated an average perceived level below the minimum desired level. The LibQual response sample continues to be excellent, with a 16% overall response rate in 2018 (1415 valid responses), and a 17.6% response rate in 2015 (1681 valid responses).   

Under the leadership of the Director, the Library Advisory Committee had regular meetings, enthusiastic participation, and idea exchange among Library faculty and administration, subject faculty, and students.  As a result, it is a highly inclusive and active body.  Library Advisory Committee members attend regularly and make contributions.