Skip to main content

Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests In Print

About the Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print

The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) is a book series produced and published by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska. The MMY includes timely, consumer-oriented test reviews that provide evaluative information to promote and encourage informed test selection. Typical MMY test entries include descriptive information, one or two professional reviews, and reviewer references. To be reviewed in the MMY a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new, revised, or widely used since it last appeared in the MMY series. Beginning in The Fourteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook, tests also must provide sufficient documentation supporting their technical quality to meet criteria for review. Over 2,700 testing instruments have been reviewed since the MMY began publication in 1938. Each edition of the MMY is unique in that the editors vary and the information contained in them varies. So reviews that appear in the Sixteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook will not appear in the Seventeenth Mental Measurements Yearbook and vice versa. The Library has the print editions 1 - 13 of the Mental Measurments Yearbook, shelved in the Reference Collection (call number BF176 .M46).

Tests in Print (TIP) lists all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language. Now in its Seventh Edition, TIP provides test information including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test.The Library has some print editions of Tests in Print, also shelved in the Reference Collection (call number BF176 .T45).

The electronic database Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, available to libraries by subscription, combines access to the MMY and TIP in a single electronic interface. Users can simultaneously access both current descriptions of available tests and their most recent test reviews in one interface. All editions of the MMY from edition 1 to the current are included in the database, and it is updated every 6 months to ensure timely access to current information.

Accessing MMY-TIP

The Bloomsburg University Andruss Library subscribes to the electronic Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print database through EBSCOhost. The database provides electronic access to all editions of the MMY and to the current edition of TIP. To access the database:

  1. Go the the Andruss Library homepage: http://library.bloomu.edu
  2. Click on the tab for Find Articles & More, and from the drop-down menu, select Databases A-Z
  3. Click on the letter M at the top of the page to view a list of databases beginning with the letter 'M'
  4. Click on the Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print link in the alphabetical list
  5. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to enter your login information (your username/password to login to email and BOLT), shown below:


 

Other sources for test information

In addition to searching Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, try these strategies to find test and testing information:

Credits

Adapted by Linda Neyer from a LibGuide developed by Amanda Breu, Instruction and Outreach Librarian, at Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria Library, and from materials developed by Darla Bressler.

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Newsfeed

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000