Subject Librarian
Reference Sources
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2020The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society discusses media around the world in their varied forms-newspapers, magazines, radio, television, film, books, music, websites, social media, mobile media-and describes the role of each in both mirroring and shaping society. This encyclopedia provides a thorough overview of media within social and cultural contexts, exploring the development of the mediated communication industry, mediated communication regulations, and societal interactions and effects.
Encyclopedia of Media and Communication by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2013Detailed and up-to-date, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication synthesizes a wide array of works and perspectives on the making of meaning. The appendix includes timelines covering the whole historical record for each medium, from either antiquity or their inception to the present day. Each entry also features a bibliography linking readers to relevant resources for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2011Includes more than 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media throughout the world in the 20th and 21st centuries.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2012Examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society.
Recommended websites
- Berkman CenterThe Berkman Center's mission is to explore and understand cyberspace; to study its development, dynamics, norms, and standards; and to assess the need or lack thereof for laws and sanctions.
- Media SmartsInformation and resources to help teachers, parents, and community leaders promote critical thinking in young people about the media and its impact on their lives.
- Media Education LabThe Media Education Lab at the University of Rhode Island advances media literacy education through research and community service. We emphasize interdisciplinary scholarship and practice that stands at the intersections of communication, media studies and education.
- Pew Research Center for People and the PressAn independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues.
- Social MediaThe Pew Internet & American Life Project studies the impact of the social media, focusing on a variety of topics.