Ask Us!
Texts for this course
Following are four (4) ebooks available through the BU Andruss Library for this course. If off-campus, login at the prompt using your Single Sign On (SSO used for BOLT & email). Best viewed with IE or Firefox. (In Firefox make sure that 'Use Adobe Acrobat' is selected. Go to Options > Applications > Portable Document Format > select drop down 'Use Adobe Acrobat').
International Textbook of Diabetes Mellitus (4th ed.) by ISBN: 9781118387689Publication Date: 20154th edition. Sections covered include epidemiology, diagnosis, pathogenesis, management and complications of diabetes and public health issues worldwide. Incorporates new data regarding the scientific understanding and clinical management of diabetes and incorporates the basic science of metabolism, pathophysiology, and clinical aspects of the disease. 3 users
Textbook of Diabetes (5th ed.) by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781118912027Publication Date: 2017The 5th edition contains new information on developments in diabetes care and treatment modalities used around the world. New chapters include: Ischaemic Heart Disease, Glucagon in Islet Regulation, Microbiome and Diabetes, Diabetes and Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease, Diabetes and Cancer, End of Life Care in Diabetes, and a new section on Psychosocial aspects of diabetes. Publisher also provides free access to the Wiley Digital Edition providing search across the book, the full reference list with web links, illustrations and photographs, and post-publication updates, on a companion website.
Medical Management of Type 2 Diabetes (7th ed.) by ISBN: 9781580404914Publication Date: 2012Published by the American Diabetes Association, this book provides health care professionals with the comprehensive information needed to give the best possible medical care to patients with diabetes mellitus. 1 user
Principles of Diabetes Mellitus (3rd ed.) by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9783319187402Publication Date: 2017Third edition is a timely update to the comprehensive textbook first published in 2002 and reissued in a second edition in 2010. All chapters have been significantly revised and updated with current evidence and best practices, and four brand new chapters are included, discussing the potential role of vitamin D in the pathogenesis of diabetes, peculiarities of diabetes in the elderly, oral manifestations of diabetes, and the current state of bariatric surgery.
Organizations and Government Agencies
- Diabeties Data and StatisticsPublished by the US National Diabetes Surveillance System. Resources documenting the public health burden of diabetes and its complications in the United States.
- American Diabetes AssociationExplore the links at the bottom of the page for Research & Practice.
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionDedicated to protecting health and promoting quality of life through the prevention and control of disease, injury, and disability.
- International Diabetes FederationAn umbrella organization of over 230 national diabetes associations in 170 countries and territories.
- MedlinePlus: DiabetesFree online health database from the National Library of Medicine, with a consumer focus.
- National Diabetes Education ProgramA partnership of the National Institutes of Health, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and more than 200 public and private organizations.
- National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney DiseasesDiabetes A - Z page; select a letter to locate a disease or condition, diagnostic test, or anatomy topic.
- World Health OrganizationAn agency of the United Nations, WHO is concerned with international public health.
Library Search
Find books, media, and more in library catalog
'Googling' better
When searching Google or any search engine, you can get more relevant search results by limiting your search by domain, for example .edu, .org, .gov, .net
Enter your keywords followed by the command site:[domain]. For example, if your topic is on bleach as a disinfectant, then you might type into the search box: management of diabetes in adults site:gov
Use Google Scholar to refine your search terms while locating scholarly journal articles and books. On campus, click on the links for FullText@BloomU or More>CheckAvailability@BloomU to view the full-text. If off-campus, enable the Settings > Library Links > Bloomsburg University to obtain access to full-text.
Journals
Following is a sample of some journals about diabetes. To find additional journals use the link 'See additional...'
Reference Management
- Log in / create account in new ProQuest RefWorks
- For an introduction to using ProQuest RefWorks, view these tutorials
- For information on how to enable RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM), view this page.
What is RefWorks?
- RefWorks is a web–based reference management system that allows you to create a personal database with your references and to format references in a wide variety of citation styles (over 4,000!). References can be imported into RefWorks from many online databases and from Google Scholar. RefWorks also formats in-text citations, using either the Write-N-Cite plug-in for Word (available in both ProQuest Refworks and Legacy RefWorks) and the RefWorks Citation Manager (available with the new ProQuest ReWorks) which works in both Word and Google Docs.
Who has access to RefWorks?
- RefWorks is available to all Bloomsburg students, faculty, staff, and alumni*, either on or off-campus.
Creating a RefWorks Account
- Go to ProQuest RefWorks
- Use your Single Sign On (your HuskyID and password) to create an account
- Fill in the required fields and submit your information.
- Confirm your account using the link sent in an email to your BU email address
- You're good to go!
*Alumni can keep their ProQuest RefWorks account. Some point before graduation, update your email address to the new domain (abc1234@alumni.bloomu.edu) and you'll be able to continue using your RefWorks account. Questions? Check out this FAQ on the ProQuest support page or Ask us.
Getting Started with RefWorks
The Proquest RefWorks YouTube channel has videos to introduce users to RefWorks. We recommend you view the following ones to help you get started using RefWorks:
- 01 Introduction to RefWorks
- 02 Accessing RefWorks
- 03 RefWorks Basic Functionality
- 04 Starting Research with RefWorks
- 05 Creating References and Adding Documents Within RefWorks
- 06 Organizing References with Folders in RefWorks
- 07 Organizing References with Projects in RefWorks
- 08 Writing with RefWorks
Library Databases
Biomedical databases:
- PubMedPubMed, a free National Library of Medicine database, includes over 27 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
- MEDLINE CompleteProvides full text for over 1,800 medical journals, and abstracts from over 5,400 current biomedical journals indexed by the National Library of Medicine.
- Nursing Reference Center PlusEvidence-based resource, providing quick reference at the point-of-care including: disease and condition overviews, evidence-based care sheets, nursing cultural competencies, patient education handouts, and point-of-care drug information.
Interdisciplinary databases:
- Annual ReviewsIndexes 30+ annual reviews throughout the natural & social sciences.Contains full-text of recent annual reviews of the life sciences, psychology, and anthropology.
Biological databases:
- Biological AbstractsAbstracts and indexes the journal literature for virtually every life sciences discipline: including biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science. 1926 - present.
- BioOne.1.BioOne.1. provides full text access to 101 journals and the ability to browse an additional 100 journal table of contents. Journals are published by the AIBS societies and related organizations. PLEASE NOTE: if an article is not full-text, request it through interlibrary loan, do NOT pay for access. Ask library staff for help.
- Environment CompleteCoverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.