BU Books & More
Find books, media, and more in library catalog
Social Science Databases
This is a complete, alphabetical list of all databases for the social sciences:
Academic Search Ultimate
Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 13,200 publications, including magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. More than 13,000 publications are full-text and 9,000+ are peer-reviewed journals. 1887 - present.
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922
African American history, culture and experience from the 16th through the 20th centuries. More than 12,000 printed works: books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints. An unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture, based on the Library Company of Philadelphia.
America: History and Life with Full Text
Indexes over 1,700 scholarly U. S. and Canadian history journals, with full-text coverage for nearly 290 journals and more than 100 books.
Indexes 30+ annual reviews throughout the natural & social sciences.Contains full-text of recent annual reviews of the life sciences, psychology, and anthropology.
A compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases. Is an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Provides indexing and full text access to 33 American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals, bulletins, and newsletters.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Full Text
Indexes over 500 journals, current books, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
Based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography”, this database contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries, over a 160-year period.
America's Historical Newspapers
Full text access to digitized collections of thousands of American newspapers dating from 1690-1917 and from all 50 states.
eHRAF World Cultures
Former name Ethnography Collection; contains sections of books, articles, and dissertations for various cultures or ethnic groups and organized by the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF).
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Database of the world's scholarly literature in history (except U. S. & Canada) and related fields.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Access to policy and strategy documents from federal, state, and local government agencies; international governments and institutions; and research institutions, universities, and think tanks.
A searchable collection of over 600 full text journals, some dating back to the 19th century. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
Full text for approximately 250 peer-reviewed law journals. Covers criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and more.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Contains information, reviews, and references for 3,000+ testing instruments (MMY); provides information on all currently known, commercially available tests in print in English (TIP).
Military and Government Collection
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 400 periodicals with cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 titles. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets.
Full text to over 500 US papers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. 1980's -- present.
Selected full text for 40+ national (U.S.) and international newspapers,full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Points of View Reference Center
Search for current and controversial topics. Useful for developing arguments, writing position papers, and development of critical thinking skills.
A searchable collection of over 300 full text academic press journals covering literature, history, the arts, education, philosophy, political science and more.
Full text articles on current issues in psychology from more than 80 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. 1894 - present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Contains full text for over 400 journals.
Citations and/or summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports for psychology and related disciplines from nearly 2500 journals,
Repository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well as a rich source of structured information about the tests. To cite material in PsycTESTS, follow the guidelines in
Provides streaming psychotherapy demonstration videos through PsycNET. To access, click on 'I accept' near bottom of initial Disclaimer page.
Sage Journals Online
Over 460 full-text journals in health sciences, social sciences and humanities, materials sciences and engineering, and life and biomedical sciences.
Social Work Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts the social work literature. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers.1965 - present.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Journal articles, books, & conference papers for disciplines including sociology, anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social psych. 1908 - present.
All areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. 1965 - present.
Tests in Print (combined with Mental Measurements Yearbook)
Provides information on all currently known, commercially available tests in print in English (TIP); contains information, reviews, and references for 2,000+ testing instruments (MMY);
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes.
Washington Post (1877 - 2001)
Historical Newspaper known for its political reporting, photo essays, Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial writing, and investigative reporting,
Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present). Offers cited reference searching and Author Finder. Click
to view video tutorials.
Wiley Online Library
150+ full-text journals in the sciences, health sciences, and social sciences, including business, education, and psychology.
Use this database to search the holdings of libraries worldwide.
OED: Oxford English Dictionary
Search Oxford English Dictionary (on-campus)
Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | firstname.lastname@example.org
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000