Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RN to BSN Program Library Research Guide

Designed to assist undergraduate nursing students find high quality information for their papers and projects.

Finding Articles Tutorial

Need help searching the library's databases? View this tutorial.

Major Databases for Nursing

Specialized Databases for Nursing

Related Databases for Nursing

How do I find a particular journal?




For example, if you have a citation to this article:

MacGuire, J. M. (2006) Putting nursing research findings into practice: research utilization as an aspect of the management of change. Journal of Advanced Nursing 53(1): 65-71

you would type Journal of advanced nursing into the search box to see if we have the journal, and then navigate to the article. For more information on how to navigate to an article, review a tutorial here.

Peer Review in 5 Minutes

How can I tell if a journal is peer reviewed? Many databases provide a limiter for scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Need a refresher on 'peer review'? Watch Peer Review in Three Minutes North Carolina State University Libraries.

Search Strategy Builder

In Google I can type in, "What's the weather like in New York City this weekend?" and receive the answer. You need to dumb down your inquiry to short, important pieces of information for database searching.

To help you think through this process of building a good search, here's a little tool that can help you construct effective searches for Primo, the library's catalog, many article databases, and more. We call it Search Strategy Builder.

Just click on the link above, fill in the blanks, and click the button to create a Search Statement. You can then copy and paste that statement into the database of your choice.

PubMed for Nurses

About Us 

Chronicle of Higher Education

Renew Books Online

Suggestion Box

Library Fines

Giving to the Library

Request a Purchase

Open Computers

Student Employment

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000