BIOLOGY 481: Senior Biology Seminar
Developing an Effective Poster
Following are some links which will help you both in selecting a topic and in preparing your poster.
-
Creating Effective Poster PresentationsA very nice explanation of the purpose and structure of poster sessions, from North Carolina State University.
-
Designing Communications for a Poster FairInformation on how to design an effective poster, from the Teaching and Learning with Technology program at Penn State University.
-
Poster Samples | School of Undergraduate Studies | U of Texas - AustinLists examples of posters from different disciplines. Scroll to bottom and click on link for 'Create your message' -- includes checklists of effective posters.
Citing & Annotated Bibliography
Check with your professor for his preferred citation style, and then be consistent when using it. Following are some helpful links explaining more about how to use both CSE and AMA style as well as info on creating an annotated bibliography.
-
AMA Citation StyleFrom James Madison University, a PDF with examples of citations in the American Medical Association style.
-
CSE Quick Citation GuideQuick guide from Penn State University Libraries.
-
Annotated BibliographiesThe Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
RefWorks Guide
- Log in to RefWorks
- Need to set up a RefWorks account? Use this link
- Learn how to use RefWorks by viewing their YouTube videos
What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a web–based bibliographic reference manager. It allows users to create personal databases of references and use them for a variety of research activities. References can be quickly and easily imported from many online databases and library catalogues into RefWorks. These personal databases can then be used to organize, store, and share the information. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers using the free Write-N-Cite plug-in for Word or create formatted bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.
RefWorks is freely available to all Bloomsburg students, faculty and staff both on and off-campus.
Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000