LibGuides: BIOLOGY 481: Senior Biology Seminar: Historical research

Electronic Books

The Library provides access to over 125,000 electronic books through two databases, called ebrary and eBook Collection.

Most of the books are indexed in Primo (the Library's catalog), but you can also search the databases directly, which allows you to search the full-text within the books.

To view a book off-campus, you'll be prompted to log in using your Husky ID.

Online biographical resources

Biographical Memoirs
From the National Academy of Sciences, Published since 1877, Biographical Memoirs provide the life histories and selected bibliographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members.

JSTOR
JSTOR, a collection of 2400+ full text journals, many which date back to the 19th century, can be a source for biographical information, including obituaries.
New York Times (Account Activation)
Use to identify citation for obituary in NYT. To get full-text, request the article citation through document delivery/interlibrary loan or view it on Library on microfilm.
America's Historical Newspapers
Full text access to digitized collections of thousands of American newspapers dating from 1690-1917 and from all 50 states.
truncation *
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This free site from the Library of Congress allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1789 - 1925 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690 - present.
Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the LOC as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program.
Washington Post (1877 - 2006)
Historical Newspaper from 1877 to 2000 offering full page and article images with searchable full-text.
May NOT be searched in combination with other Proquest non-historical databases.

Print biographical resources

Biography and History

Reference call number	Title	Years
CT100.C8	Current Biography	1940-2015
CT213.A68 1999	American National Biography
D410.F3	Facts on File World News Digest	1941-2003
E174.5.C3 1993	Encyclopedia of American Facts & Dates
E174.5.E52	Encyclopedia of American History
E176.W642	Who’s Who in America	1986-2016

Sciences

Reference call number	Title
Q141.B5285 2000	The Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Q141.D5	Dictionary of Scientific Biography
QH26.B54 1984	Biologists: the Biographical Dictionary of Scientists
QH26.N68 1996	Notable Women in the Life Sciences
QH302.5.E54 2002	Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

Find books, media, and more in library catalog

Advanced Search

For print books, limit results to 'Held by Library'.
To 'Get it', you need three things that display in the record:

(1) Status -- if the item is 'available' (in place)
(2) Collection -- the Collection and floor where the item is shelved
(3) Call Number -- the entire call number (email or text it to yourself)

For ebooks, limit to 'Full Text Online'.
To 'View It', click the link for Online Access or the link after Full Text available at:___
Select Read Online for Proquest Ebook Central books, and click to view the PDF for EBSCOhost Ebooks.

View the tutorial "How Do I Find a Book?" Still not sure how to find a book? Contact Ask Us