Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOLOGY 481: Senior Biology Seminar

Tips for Searching

When searching databases/catalogs to find articles/books by or about your scientist and his or her impact, remember these tips:

  • If you're looking for information about your scientist and his/her impact, search for your scientist as a subject
  • If you're looking for information by your scientist, search for your scientist as an author. Once you've identified an important work by them, search Google Scholar and Web of Science for the work and see who has cited it. (This will give you a sense of the work's impact.)

When selecting databases, consider scope (subject-specific or interdisciplinary) and dates that the database covers. The following databases are grouped broadly by subject.

There may be overlap between some databases, but each database contains unique items indexed. If you have questions, Ask a Librarian for assistance.

"Google" wisely

Limit your search by domain (edu, gov, or org). For example, eugene odum site:edu

Google Web Search

Use legacy or impact as terms with your scientist's name. For example: legacy of eugene odum

Google Scholar Search

About Us 

Chronicle of Higher Education

Renew Books Online

Suggestion Box

Library Fines

Giving to the Library

Request a Purchase

Open Computers

Student Employment

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000