LibGuides: NURSING 412: Adult Health II: Finding articles

Major Databases for Nursing

CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature database indexes more than 5,300 journals and provides full text for 1,400 journals. Includes research instruments, clinical trials, and continuing education modules.
MEDLINE Complete
Provides full text for over 1,800 medical journals, and abstracts from over 5,400 current biomedical journals indexed by the National Library of Medicine.

View a brief tutorial on how to use. EBSCOhost
PubMed
PubMed, a free National Library of Medicine database, includes over 27 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.

These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. For help, view the tutorial Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice.
Login required to access BU's subscription resources
Ovid Nursing Database
Includes Journals@Ovid and indexing information from MEDLINE, the United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database. Has options to limit to 'Ovid Full Text Available' and to ' Include Related Terms' using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to 550+ scholarly full text journals, most of which are peer-reviewed. Includes the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Journals@Ovid
Full-text for over 110 health care journals and searchable abstracts for more than 3,000 health science & science journals.

To limit to full-text, check "Ovid Full Text Available" near bottom of search screen. truncation $
Nursing Reference Center
Evidence-based resource, providing quick reference at the point-of-care including: disease and condition overviews, evidence-based care sheets, nursing cultural competencies, patient education handouts, and point-of-care drug information.

Searches both CINAHL, MEDLINE, and a number of other health resources.

Academic Search Ultimate
Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 13,200 publications, including magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. More than 13,000 publications are full-text and 9,000+ are peer-reviewed journals. 1887 - present.

Also includes more than 74,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present and helps round out student research