Search Everything @ BU is the name of Bloomsburg University Library's EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS). EDS searches most of Andruss Library's electronic subscription databases and journals as well as the Library's online catalog, PILOT, in one interface. Results are limited to materials available either through the Library (full-text online) or in the Libraryin physical format (hard copy).
How do I use 'Search Everything @ BU'?
Use it to find materials available either through the Library (full-text online) or in the Library in physical format (hard copy). You can further refine your search results by using the limiters (on the left), like:
Catalog Only (to find to books, ebooks, media, etc. owned by BU)
What databases are NOT included in 'Search Everything'?
The following library database subscriptions are not currently indexed in 'Search Everything' and should be searched separately.
ACS PublicationsOver 45 journals published by the American Chemical Society. Full text current and back issues.
For access to C&EN Global Enterprise (1998 to present) use this link.; for C&EN Archive (1942 - last calendar year), use this link.
American Association of Petroleum Geologists DatapagesThis full-text database includes mappable GIS data, geological publications, company reports, and maps from around the world. Access is provided through the AAPG Foundation Digital Products Fund through an endowment established by BU alumnus Daniel J. Tearpock, B.A., Earth & Planetary Sciences, 1970.
Anatomy and Physiology Online (Primal Pictures)Provides access to 20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides for labeling, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body system, pronunciation guide, quizzes and more.
CCH IntelliconnectFederal, state, and international tax service from Commerce Clearing House. (Formerly called CCH Tax Research Network)
NOTE: You must create a user ID & password on-campus initially in order to access the database both on- and off-campus. 35 concurrent users. View training videos here.
DSM-5™Online access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5). Also includes DSM-5™ Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and DSM-5™ Clinical Cases. Information on how to cite the DSM-5 in APA Style (6th ed.), can be found onthe APA Style Blog 6th Edition Archive.
eHRAF World CulturesFormer name Ethnography Collection; contains sections of books, articles, and dissertations for various cultures or ethnic groups and organized by the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF).
Value Line Investment SurveyStock reports. On portal page, select link for Dashboard, and from Quick Links box on right, select links to the VLIS or SMC stock reports (BU subscribes to these).
For video tutorials, visit this page. 5 simultaneous users.
What databases ARE included in 'Search Everything'?
'Search Everything' searches most of the Library's databases as well as hundreds of other online databases and journals included in the EDS 'unified index', which uses a sophisticated search algorithm. EDS was customized for Bloomsburg University Library to include its resources and was dubbed 'Search Everything'.
Following is a list of the databases that are included in 'Search Everything' (some databases are in the process of being added to EDS). If you have any questions about content, Ask a Librarian.
Academic Search UltimateOur largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 13,200 publications, including magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. More than 13,000 publications are full-text and 9,000+ are peer-reviewed journals. 1887 - present.
Also includes more than 74,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present and helps round out student research
Accessible Archives CompleteDigitized, primary, American history sources. Includes: African American Newspapers, American County Histories, The Civil War, Frank Leslie’s Weekly, Godey’s Lady’s Book, The Liberator, The Lily, History of Woman Suffrage, National Anti-Slavery Standard, National Citizen and Ballot Box, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue, The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County, The Revolution, Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman, South Carolina Newspapers, Twelve Years a Slave, The Virginia Gazette.
ACM Digital LibraryIncludes ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a full-text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books, and a curated collection from other publishers.
1952 - present.
AgricolaIndexes more than 4.8 million records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, including journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports.
Annual ReviewsIndexes 30+ annual reviews throughout the natural & social sciences.Contains full-text of recent annual reviews of the life sciences, psychology, and anthropology.
1930 - present.
Anthropology PlusA compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases. Is an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
1800's - present
Applied Science and Technology SourceIncludes the full-text for almost 1,200 journals. Content includes leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
Art & Architecture SourceCovers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Provides 600 full-text journals, 220 full-text books, and over 63,000 images.
ARTstorARTstor is a searchable repository of over 2.5 million images (and growing) covering the arts, architecture, humanities, as well as the social and natural sciences.
Users may view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes
Videos showing how to use ARTstor available here. NOTE: You may access the Digital Library remotely for up to 120 days by registering for an ARTstor account while on-campus.
arXiv.org e-Print archiveOpen access to over 1.3 million articles in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
Biological AbstractsAbstracts and indexes the journal literature for virtually every life sciences discipline: including biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science. 1926 - present.
Business Source CompleteOur largest business database, BSC provides the full-text for more than 3,800 full-text journals, including nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
The catalog offers you the option to find a nearby Federal Depository Library that has a particular publication or that can provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information. Click on the title of interest from your search results list. Then click on the Locate in a Library link within the displayed record.
The database provides over 1.6 million entries including 650,000 national, state, and international award entries dating back to 1922. Includes teaching tools (lesson plans & teaching guides) and allows limiting by age or grade level. Truncation is done by selecting 'word variants' on search screen.
CINAHL CompleteThe Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature database indexes more than 5,300 journals and provides full text for 1,400 journals. Includes research instruments, clinical trials, and continuing education modules.
Civil War Primary SourceCaptures various accounts of the Civil War, including firsthand perspectives from hospitals and prison camps, and reactions to the War from the home front. Focus is on the War years, but it also includes important documents from the years leading up to the War and after the fall of the Confederacy.
Drawn from the holdings of the New-York Historical Society, contains over 110,000 pages from over 400 individual collections focus on the War as it was fought from both Northern and Southern perspectives.
Communication SourceCombines Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts (formerly published by Sage). Full text for more than 630 journals, and indexing and abstracting for over 1,100 core titles.
Offers full-text content pertaining to communication studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800Based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography”, this database contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries, over a 160-year period.
Education SourceFull text from 1,800+ journals and 550+ books on early childhood to higher education, plus educational specialties like multilingual education, health education, and testing. Also includes education related conference papers.
Environment CompleteCoverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
Full text for over 920 journals and 190 monographs. 1888 - present.
Currently indexes and abstracts over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
Essay and General Literature IndexIndexes nearly 65,000 essays found in over 5,300 printed anthologies and collections published in the U.S., Great Britain, and Canada, from 1985 - present. EBSCOhost (formerly H. W. Wilson)
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750A bibliographic database based on the original bibliography developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis at the John Carter Brown Library, a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryIncludes the following Gale Virtual Reference Library titles: College Blue Book, Contemporary Musicians, Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence, Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, American Decades, World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems, Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, and Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices.
Gender Studies DatabaseCombines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.
Contains primarily monographs and gray literature, from 1972 to the present.
Geo RefRecords covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography. Bibliographic records from more than 3,500 journals are included in the database as well as books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.
GreenFILEInformation covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including scholarly, government and general-interest titles with content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Grove Music OnlineGrove Music Online is now searchable through Oxford Music Online, which also includes the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Oxford University Press
Health Source: Consumer EditionIndexing for nearly 600 periodicals as well as pamphlets and book sections for general health, nutrition and professional health care. Provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionProvides access to 550+ scholarly full text journals, most of which are peer-reviewed. Includes the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Indexes articles from more than 1,800 journals, and provides access to 349 full text journals and more than 120 full text books.
Humanities SourceIncludes full text for more than 1,400 journals with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides book reviews.
IBISWorldIncludes reports on over 700 US industries and over 8,000 publicly traded US companies. Search one of three databases: Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings, and Company Research.
IEEE Computer Society Digital LibraryAccess and search the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers' Computer Society full-text journals, transactions, and conference proceedings.
IOPscienceProvides access to over 70 full-text journals in physics, across scientific, technical and medical disciplines.
JSTORA searchable collection of over 600 full text journals, some dating back to the 19th century. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
Legal CollectionFull text for approximately 250 peer-reviewed law journals. Covers criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and more.
MAS Ultra School EditionProvides full text to nearly 500 popular general interest and current events publications in education.
Also provides full text to more than 510,000 images, 360 reference books, over 85,670 biographies, and over 107,000 primary source documents.
MathSciNetThe online version of Mathematical Reviews, which provides timely reviews or summaries of journals and books containing contributions to mathematical research.
MEDLINE CompleteProvides full text for over 1,800 medical journals, and abstracts from over 5,400 current biomedical journals indexed by the National Library of Medicine.
Tests include ones in psychology, education, business, and leadership. Searches MMY and TIP simultaneously. For help citing reviews, consult this guide. truncation *
Middle Search PlusProvides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps and flags.
Military and Government CollectionProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 400 periodicals with cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 titles. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets.
MLA International BibliographyA bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. It has citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
Music IndexCoverage from 1970 to the present. Indexes 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
Naxos Music LibraryStreaming access to more than 130,000 CDs with more than 2 millions tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. Can be searched by composer, work, genre and label; by keyword search; and more.
In addition, NML provides liner notes for many recordings. 5 simultaneous users.
Newspaper SourceSelected full text for 40+ national (U.S.) and international newspapers,full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Nursing Reference CenterEvidence-based resource, providing quick reference at the point-of-care including: disease and condition overviews, evidence-based care sheets, nursing cultural competencies, patient education handouts, and point-of-care drug information.
Searches both CINAHL, MEDLINE, and a number of other health resources.
Philosopher's IndexAuthor written abstracts for books and over 680 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields from 50 different countries. 1940 - present.
Play IndexIndexes over 30,000 plays written from antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present.
Search BU Books and More by play title to see if Library owns.
Points of View Reference CenterSearch for current and controversial topics. Useful for developing arguments, writing position papers, and development of critical thinking skills.
Political Science CompleteProvides nearly 340 full-text reference books and monographs, 530 journals, and more than 36,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association. Indexes an additional 2,900 titles.
Primary SearchProvides full text of over 70 children's magazines, Lexile reading levels included for all full text articles.1990 - present.
Over 100 children's pamphlets and over 100,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Project MUSEA searchable collection of over 300 full text academic press journals covering literature, history, the arts, education, philosophy, political science and more.
PsycARTICLESFull text articles on current issues in psychology from more than 80 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. 1894 - present.
All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFOCitations and/or summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports for psychology and related disciplines from nearly 2500 journals,
Journal coverage: 1800's - present. Indexing from 1600's - present.
PsycTESTSRepository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well as a rich source of structured information about the tests. To cite material in PsycTESTS, follow the guidelines in this tutorial. EBSCOhost
APA URL: http://psycnet.apa.org
ReferenceUSAContains verified information on more than 15 million U.S. businesses/employers and 156 million U.S. residents.
Useful for market research and for job searches; sort by geographic area, business name or size including sales, type of business, and more.
Regional Business NewsProvides comprehensive full text coverage of 80 regional business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
ScienceDirect50+ subscribed, full-text journals, including journal *Digital Investigation: The International Journal of Digital Forensics & Incident Response* and reference book *Encyclopedia of Virology*.
ScitationArticles from leading physical sciences journals, conference proceedings, standards, and magazines published by AIP (American Institute of Physics) Publishing and publishing partners.
Serials DirectoryContains over 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles and data from over 108,000 publishers worldwide.
Social Work AbstractsIndexes and abstracts the social work literature. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers.1965 - present.
SocINDEX with Full TextJournal articles, books, & conference papers for disciplines including sociology, anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social psych. 1908 - present.
Sociological CollectionAll areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. 1965 - present.
SPORTDiscus with Full TextCovers exercise physiology, sports medicine, physical therapy, physical fitness, training, coaching, dance, etc. from 1985 to the present; over half of journals are full text.