Skip to Main Content

3rd Floor Exhibit

The 50th Anniversary of the Bloomsburg University Archives

 

 

The University Archives when it was located in the Bakeless Center, 1996

The current campus of Bloomsburg University had its beginnings in 1866, when land was purchased and construction began on what is now Carver Hall. From that time to the present, the institution has been creating and preserving letters, meeting minutes, reports, publications and all types of media that document its activities. Taken together, they provided a historical record of the institution. For many years these records were saved by individual offices and especially the library. It kept photographs, publications issued yearly such as course catalogs and yearbooks, and beginning in 1910 scrapbooks of clippings on the school from the local newspaper.

 

By the 1960s, the material had grown to be fairly extensive. When planning was underway for the first library building, a room was designated for the Archives, but primarily for storage. It was not until the fall of 1972 that an individual, former library director James Watts, was named archivist to collect together and manage the historical records. He remained in that role until his retirement in 1978 and was replaced the following year with Roger Fromm. At the same time the physical Archives, which had been moved to the Hartline Science Center in 1974, moved again to the Bakeless Center. The final changes occurred in the 1990s, when Robert Dunkelberger took over in 1996, the year after Fromm retired, and the Archives moved to the new Andruss Library in 1998. Since that time the collections have continued to grow, material has been placed online, and publicity increased through exhibits and publications. For 50 years the heritage of Bloomsburg University has been preserved, to the benefit of the institution and for all those who hold it dear.

 

The display is currently installed in the flat cases on the third floor of Andruss Library and contains photographs, slides, negatives, newspaper clippings, publications, correspondence, computer disks, floor plans, films, tapes, and artifacts. The exhibit will be on display until April 14, 2023.

 

 

 

Virtual Exhibits

The University Archives periodically creates online or 'virtual' exhibits to highlight the Archives' collections and the history of Bloomsburg University.

About Us 

Chronicle of Higher Education

Renew Books Online

Suggestion Box

Library Fines

Giving to the Library

Request a Purchase

Open Computers

Student Employment

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000