Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental, Geographical and Geological Sciences Research

Background Sources

Why use them?

Reference works, like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, as well as online sources like the ones listed here, can be important sources of background or other information to assist you with research on your term papers.  If your interests are broad, this information may help you focus on a manageable research topic.  These sources may also suggest books or articles which contain more information on your chosen topics.

Recommended Online Sources

These online web resources may help you in your research.

Recommended Sources from our Reference Collection

The Library has a large collection of encyclopedias, atlases, and other specialized reference books, in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor. Following are a few examples:

Atlas of exploration
Reference CollectionG1036 .S12 R6 1997

Atlas of the oceans Reference Collection G2800 .R3 1994

Cultural atlas of India: India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh & Sri Lanka Reference Collection DS421 .J6 1996

CultureGrams : the nations around us Reference Collection GT150 .C85

The dictionary of physical geography Reference Collection GB10 .D53 2000

Encyclopedia of GIS  (available online)

Encyclopedia of human geography Reference Collection GF4 .P58 2004

Encyclopedia of world cultures Reference Collection GN307 .E53 1991

Encyclopedia of world environmental history Reference Collection GF10 .E63 2004

Ethnic cultures of the world : a statistical reference Reference Collection GN495.4 .P37 1997

Facts on File earth science handbook. Reference Collection  QE5 .F32 2000

Geographica : the complete illustrated atlas of the world. Reference Collection G63 .G46 2000 (found in the 2nd floor atlas collection)

Hammond World Atlas Reference Collection G1021 .H2665 2000
(found in the 2nd floor atlas collection)

Historical atlas of the earth: a visual exploration of the earth's physical past. Reference Collection QE501.4 .P3 H57 1996

McGraw-Hill dictionary of earth science. Reference Collection  QE5 .M364 1997

McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific and technical terms. Reference Collection  Q123 .M34 2003

Oxford companion to the earth. Reference Collection QE5 .O94 2000

Rivers of the World : a social, geographical, and environmental sourcebook Reference Collectoin GB1201.4 .P46 2001

Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life Reference Collection GN333 .W67 1998

Reference Works on South Asia

Cultural atlas of India: India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh & Sri Lanka / Gordon Johnson. New York: Facts on File, 1996. REF DS421 .J6 1996
Covers the physical and cultural background of India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka. Includes prehistory and early history and works up to modern times.

Encyclopedia of India
/ Stanley Wolpert, ed. Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2006. REF DS405 .E556 2006
The 4 volumes include 580 articles covering art, contemporary facts, culture, history, geography, economics, religion, secularism, theater, and more. Includes sections on primary source documents, a selected annotated bibliography, and a glossary of terms. More than 300 illustrations, charts, maps, photographs, and sidebars, plus a thematic outline of the text and chronologies of all major South Asian countries.

South Asian folklore: an encyclopedia : Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
/ Margaret  A. Mills, Peter J. Claus and Sarah Diamond, editors. New York: Routledge, 2003. REF GR302 .S68 2003
Includes bibliographical references and index. Actually covers both folklore and the culture of these countries. Contains almost 500 articles on a "wide range of folklore topics, from material culture to customs and beliefs, rituals, festivals and performing arts, as well as the huge diversity of verbal art forms." Articles may be categorized as either 'general concept articles' (major topics applied across the entire region) or 'case study articles' which develop particular cases further developing ideas in the general concept articles. Numerous cross references and bibliographies included in each article.

See also individual country studies for India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and other countries available online

About Us 

Chronicle of Higher Education

Renew Books Online

Suggestion Box

Library Fines

Giving to the Library

Request a Purchase

Open Computers

Student Employment

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000