LibGuides: Media & Journalism: Video & Film Resources

Film Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Offers more than 68,000 titles spanning of subject areas of anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to AVON, including content-types: documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.

For tutorials, help, and more, visit our AVON research guide.
Kanopy
A video-streaming solution for colleges with a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. Best viewed on a PC using Firefox and on a Mac using Safari.

Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students. Explore their catalog at https://www.kanopystreaming.com/catalog/
C-SPAN Video Library
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses.

Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 230,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.

Internet Moving Image Archive
Non-profit organization founded to build an Internet library. Includes an extensive moving image section, as well as live music, audio recordings, texts, and more. Many are in the public domain. Freely available web resource.
Prelinger Archives
Free online repository of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films in the public domain.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
The Archive is a joint collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston to preserve the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years.
American Memory
From the Library of Congress collections, several hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the American Memory project.