Skip to main content

BIOLOGY 571: Endocrinology

Information resources selected for endocrinology.

RefWorks Guide


What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a web–based bibliographic reference manager. It allows a user to create a personal database of references and use them for a variety of research activities. References can be quickly and easily imported from many online databases and library catalogs into RefWorks and then organized, stored, and shared. Users may also automatically insert the references into their papers using the free Write-N-Cite plug-in for Word or create formatted bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.

RefWorks is freely available to all Bloomsburg students, faculty and staff both on and off-campus. The group code for Bloomsburg University is RWBUP.

Creating a RefWorks Account

  1. Go to the RefWorks login page.
  2. Click on the link “Sign up for an individual account.”
  3. Fill in the required fields and submit your information.
  4. You will receive an e-mail confirmation of your username and password. Save this e-mail in case you forget your password. There will also be a group code in the e-mail which will allow you to access RefWorks on a non-Bloomsburg authenticated computer. The group code for Bloomsburg University is RWBUP.

Setting up your RefWorks database
Create multiple folders in your RefWorks account. Each folder can contain as many references as you want.

Putting References into your RefWorks Database
There are three methods of putting references into your database:

  1. Export references directly from a journal index (i.e., ProQuest, EBSCO)
  2. Import references from a text file created in a journal index or database.
  3. Enter references manually.

Generating a Bibliography

  1. Go to the folder you want to use
  2. Click on “Create Bibliography”
  3. Choose your output style (MLA, APA, etc.).
  4. Select “Format a Bibliography from a list of References.”
  5. Click on “Create Bibliography.”

Writing Papers with RefWorks
Write-N-Cite is a free, downloadable MS Word utility that enables users to quickly insert references into Word documents and create bibliographies properly formatted in a specified style. Click here
to download Write-N-Cite, or you can login to RefWorks and select it from the RefWorks toolbar under Tools.

Writing Style

Literature matrices

As you read research studies, you may find it helpful to use a chart or graph to take notes and stay organized. The St. Mary's Writing Center explains how to use a method called a literature matrix to collect the relevant information you'll need in order to write an effective literature review and stay organized.

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Newsfeed

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000