Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THEATRE 325: Theatre History 2

Play Criticism

In addition to searching BU Books & More for books and the databases for critical journal articles, you can consult the following resources in the Library's Reference Collection which contain criticism or provide an index to criticism in other sources.  The Reference Collection is located on the second floor of the Library.

Ref PN6112.5.M37 1990  Masterplots II: Drama Series.  Provides an act-by-act overview of the play, themes and meanings, dramatic devices and critical context of 327 plays of the twentieth century.  A brief selection of "Sources for Further Study" is provided.  Most are English-language works but a selection of major foreign plays is also included.  Arranged alphabetically by title of the play.

Ref PN1625.C68 2003  Critical Survey of Drama.  Provides brief biographies of 538 playwrights along with overviews of their writings, including analysis of individual plays and an annotated bibliography of additional sources.  Volume 8 includes 64 essays on broad topics (e.g., dramatic traditions of various regions, melodrama, deaf theater, political theater, feminist theater, gay and lesbian theater, American regional theater, Native American drama, musical drama and experimental theater, etc.)  Arranged alphabetically by the name of the playwright.

Ref Z5781.B8  Dramatic Criticism Index: A Bibliography of Commentaries on Playwrights from Ibsen to the Avant-Guard.  Identifies English-language criticism of the plays of some 300 American and foreign playwrights.

Biographies of Playwrights

Below are just a few of the resources available in Andruss Library providing brief biographical information on playwrights.  To find others, search BU Books & More or contact a librarian. 

Ref  DA28.D4 1950 The Dictionary of National Biography

Biographies of deceased persons notable in British history worldwide.  Includes playwrights.  21 volumes plus supplements covering 1901-1985.

Ref  DA28.D525 1996 The Dictionary of National Biography, 1986-1990  Supplement to the 1950 work.

Ref PR736.B7 1996  British playwrights, 1880-1956 : a research and production sourcebook

Ref PQ6051.M53 2002  Modern Spanish Dramatists

Ref PS153.N5 P43 1988  Contemporary Black American Playwrights and Their Plays

Ref PS338.N4A69 2004  African American dramatists

Ref PS352.C65 1994  Contemporary American dramatists

Ref Z1231.D7A52 1995  American playwrights, 1880-1945 : a research and production sourcebook

Paris Opera

OVERSIZE  ML1727.8.P2 M713 1987 The Paris Opéra

ML1727.8.P2 B313 1995  Opera in Paris, 1800-1850 : a lively history

ML1727.8.P2 J64 2008 Backstage at the revolution : how the Royal Paris Opera survived the end of the old regime

ML1727.8.P2 P5 1983  The Paris Opéra : an encyclopedia of operas, ballets, composers, and performers

ML1727.8.P2 M85 2009  Music, theater, and cultural transfer : Paris, 1830-1914

E-book : Staging the French Revolution: cultural politics and the Paris Opéra, 1789-1794  (https://klnpa-bloomu.userservices.exlibrisgroup.com/view/action/uresolver.do?operation=resolveService&package_service_id=2849614420003556&institutionId=3556&customerId=3555)

About Us 

Chronicle of Higher Education

Renew Books Online

Suggestion Box

Library Fines

Giving to the Library

Request a Purchase

Open Computers

Student Employment

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000