If you need additional assistance, please contact the reference desk or email Ask a BU Librarian for help.
What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a web–based bibliographic reference manager. It allows users to create personal databases of references and use them for a variety of research activities. References can be quickly and easily imported from many online databases and library catalogues into RefWorks. These personal databases can then be used to organize, store, and share the information. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers using the free Write-N-Cite plug-in for Word or create formatted bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.
RefWorks is freely available to all Bloomsburg students, faculty and staff both on and off-campus.
Creating a RefWorks Account
Setting up your RefWorks database
You can set up multiple folders in your RefWorks account and each folder can have as many references as you want.
Putting References into your RefWorks Database
There are three methods of putting references into your database:
Generating a Bibliography
Writing Papers with RefWorks
Write-N-Cite is a free downloadable MS Word utility that enables users to quickly insert references into Word documents and create bibliographies properly formatted in a specified style. Click here http://www.refworks.com/Refworks/help/Refworks.htm#Using_Write-N-Cite_for_Windows_III.htm to download Write-N-Cite or login to RefWorks and select it from the RefWorks toolbar under Tools.
Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | firstname.lastname@example.org
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000