It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CHEM 281: Introduction to Chemical Literature
Library resources for completing work in this course.
Chemistry databases
to full-text online OR to the Library's catalog (if hard-copy only) OR to an interlibrary form (if neither online nor in print).
Major Databases Chemistry
Try searching these databases first:
-
SciFinderOnline version of Chemical Abstracts with 18 million+ abstracts. First time users must register on campus and create an account, using this link. For an overview of how to search, view the Intro to SciFinder tutorial or the SciFinder tutorials on the Chemistry Research guide. For in-depth video training, view more SciFinder videos here.
-
ACS PublicationsOver 45 journals published by the American Chemical Society. Full text current and back issues.
-
PubMedPubMed, a free National Library of Medicine database, includes over 27 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
Related Databases for Chemistry
Also try these interdisciplinary databases:
-
Google ScholarUse Google's search engine for "scholarly literature". To view Bloomsburg University subscriptions and paid resources, enable 'Library Links.' View this FAQ to see how.
-
Academic Search UltimateOur largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 13,200 publications, including magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. More than 13,000 publications are full-text and 9,000+ are peer-reviewed journals. 1887 - present.
-
Annual ReviewsIndexes 30+ annual reviews throughout the natural & social sciences.Contains full-text of recent annual reviews of the life sciences, psychology, and anthropology.
-
JSTORA searchable collection of over 600 full text journals, some dating back to the 19th century. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
Specialized Databases for Chemistry
Try these more specialized databases, too:
-
Applied Science and Technology SourceIncludes the full-text for almost 1,200 journals. Content includes leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
-
Biological AbstractsAbstracts and indexes the journal literature for virtually every life sciences discipline: including biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science. 1926 - present.
-
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics OnlineComprehensive reference resource for science research, providing online access to the most current version. Sections include: Mathematics, Properties and Physical Constants, Chemical Tables, Properties of Matter, Heat, Hygrometric and Barometric Tables, Sound, Quantities and Units, and Miscellaneous.
-
GreenFILEInformation covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including scholarly, government and general-interest titles with content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
-
Nature.comProvides full-text access to the journal Nature in addition to letters, blogs, file-sharing and social networks.
-
ScienceDirect50+ subscribed, full-text journals, including journal *Digital Investigation: The International Journal of Digital Forensics & Incident Response* and reference book *Encyclopedia of Virology*.
-
Science MagazineAccess to the American Association for the Advancement of Science journal Science plus additional information including news reports, podcasts, videos, images, and more.
Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000