Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology Research

Guide to books, databases, and web resources

How do I find an article on my topic?

When you are searching for articles on a topic, try using the Library databases for high quality information. The Library subscribes to over 100 electronic databases. They contain many magazine, newspaper, and journal articles in full-text electronic databases. In addition, databases contain references and summaries (called 'abstracts') to other useful articles that may not be in electronic format. These articles may be available in print format in the Library, or they may be obtained via interlibrary loan.

Selected databases are listed on the 'Library Databases for Psychology' subpage, under the the 'How to find articles' tab above.

Publication Finder Search

 
Search: Academic Publications
Limit Your Results
For example, if you have a citation to this article: 


A Longitudinal Study of Early Adolescent Precursors to Running Away. By Tyler, Kimberly A.; Bersani, Bianca E.. Journal of Early Adolescence, May2008, Vol. 28 Issue 2, p230-251.

you would type Journal of Early Adolescence into the search box to see if we have the journal, and then navigate to the article.

For more information on how to navigate to an article, review a tutorial here.

Finding conference abstracts & proceedings

Quite often, you will find references to sources which are not journal articles or books. In particular, you may find references to conference or meeting abstracts. In this case, a mental health professional has presented his or her research at a conference or meeting and instead of publishing a journal article, the researcher has published a brief abstract summarizing his or her results in a professional society publication called a 'proceedings.' Sometimes these conference proceedings may be available online for free and sometimes they are only available in print. The following links will help you obtain them.

About Us 

Chronicle of Higher Education

Renew Books Online

Suggestion Box

Library Fines

Giving to the Library

Request a Purchase

Open Computers

Student Employment

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000