Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology Research

Background Sources

Why use them?

Reference works, like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, as well as online sources like the ones listed here, can be important sources of background or other information to assist you with research on your term papers.  If your interests are broad, this information may help you focus on a manageable research topic.  These sources may also suggest books or articles which contain more information on your chosen topics.

Recommended Online Sources

These online web resources may help you in your research.

Recommended Sources from our Reference Collection

The Library has a large collection of encyclopedias, atlases, and other specialized reference books, in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor. Following are a few examples:

Abstracts in Anthropology (1970-1977/1978, 1982-2007) Reference Collection GN1 .A15

Atlas of the real world Reference Collection G1021 .D586 2008

Atlas of world cultures Reference Collection G1046 .E1 P7 1989

Cultural atlas of India: India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh & Sri Lanka Reference Collection DS421 .J6 1996

CultureGrams : the nations around us Reference Collection GT150 .C85

Death and the afterlife: a cultural encyclopedia  Reference Collection GT3150 .T25 2000

Encyclopedia of anthropology Reference Collection GN11 .E63 2006

Encyclopedia of Evolution  (available online)

Encyclopedia of human evolution and prehistory Reference Collection GN281 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of human geography Reference Collection GF4 .P58 2004

Encyclopedia of mexico  Reference Collection F1210 .E63 1997

Encyclopedia of world cultures Reference Collection GN307 .E53 1991

Ethnic cultures of the world : a statistical reference Reference Collection GN495.4 .P37 1997

Folklore: an encyclopedia of beliefs, customs, tales, music, and art  Reference Collection GR35 .F63 1997

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales  Reference Collection GR74 .G73 2008

History of physical anthropology Reference Collection GN 50.3 .H57 1997

Marriage, family, and relationships: a cross-cultural encyclopedia Reference Collection GN480 .B76 1994

Shamanism: an encyclopedia of world beliefs, practices, and culture Reference Collection GN475.8 .S445 2004

Traditional Festivals Reference Collection GT3925 .R69 2005

Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life Reference Collection GN333 .W67 1998 and online

About Us 

Chronicle of Higher Education

Renew Books Online

Suggestion Box

Library Fines

Giving to the Library

Request a Purchase

Open Computers

Student Employment

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000