Major Databases for Social Work
Try searching these databases first:
Social Work Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts the social work literature. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers.1965 - present.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Journal articles, books, & conference papers for disciplines including sociology, anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social psych. 1908 - present.
All areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. 1965 - present.
Specialized Databases for Social Work
Try these more specialized databases, too:
Criminal Justice Abstracts Full Text
Indexes over 500 journals, current books, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work (2008) contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Contains full text for over 400 journals.
Citations and/or summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports for psychology and related disciplines from nearly 2500 journals,
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Online
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Related Databases for Social Work
Also try these interdisciplinary databases:
Academic Search Ultimate
Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 13,200 publications, including magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. More than 13,000 publications are full-text and 9,000+ are peer-reviewed journals. 1887 - present.
Indexes 30+ annual reviews throughout the natural & social sciences.Contains full-text of recent annual reviews of the life sciences, psychology, and anthropology.
A searchable collection of over 600 full text journals, some dating back to the 19th century. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
A searchable collection of over 300 full text academic press journals covering literature, history, the arts, education, philosophy, political science and more.
Contains verified information on more than 15 million U.S. businesses/employers and 156 million U.S. residents.
Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present). Offers cited reference searching and Author Finder. Click
to view video tutorials.
Use this database to search the holdings of libraries worldwide.
Other disciplines may also contain information on your topic. Use the link below to view lists of databases for other disciplines.
Find books, media, and more in library catalog
Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | firstname.lastname@example.org
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000