African American history, culture and experience from the 16th through the 20th centuries. More than 12,000 printed works: books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints. An unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture, based on the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Contains the Bloomsburg Daily (first daily newspaper published in Columbia County, PA) from Feb. 1892 - Jan. 1902, Feb. - Jul. 1903, Aug. - Dec. 1904, and Mar. 1906 - Jan. 1909 (in Jul. 1908 title changed to Bloomsburg Daily Mail). Missing periods are filled in with issues from the Democratic Sentinel (twice-weekly ed. of both papers) for: Feb. 1902 - Jan. 1903, Aug. 1903 - Jul. 1904, and Jan. 1905 - Feb. 1906. Open Access from BUPA
A paper index to the contents of the Bloomsburg Daily, Daily Mail, and the Democratic Sentinel can be found at the Harvey A. Andruss Library at Marriage and Death Notices in Columbia County, Pennsylvania Newspapers, v.5. Compiled and Edited by Stephen R. Wiist, with the Assistance of David Magolis. Prepared for the Use of the Columbia County Historical and Genealogical Society, 2005. Funds for this project were supplied in part by a Library Services and Technology Act grant awarded by the Commonwealth Libraries of Pennsylvania.
Captures various accounts of the Civil War, including firsthand perspectives from hospitals and prison camps, and reactions to the War from the home front. Focus is on the War years, but it also includes important documents from the years leading up to the War and after the fall of the Confederacy.
Drawn from the holdings of the New-York Historical Society, contains over 110,000 pages from over 400 individual collections focus on the War as it was fought from both Northern and Southern perspectives.
Use this link to activate your New York Times online subscription. Once created, you can access nytimes.com directly on the web or mobile app. Includes breaking news, multimedia, opinion, blogs, videos and more. NOTE: Create your account using your university email.
Includes access to archived articles between 1851-2002 (5 pdf downloads per day per user)
Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 13,200 publications, including magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. More than 13,000 publications are full-text and 9,000+ are peer-reviewed journals. 1887 - present.
Also includes more than 74,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present and helps round out student research
Provides access to the entire print DLB, including nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including historians, journalists, publishers, and screenwriters.
A searchable collection of over 300 full text academic press journals covering literature, history, the arts, education, philosophy, political science and more.
Contains full or excerpted primary sources from the 20th century, including oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
Digital record of American history and creativity through written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.Contains the former American Memory collection as well as many other collections.
Includes Encyclopaedia of Islam (English), Second Edition, Glossary and Index of Terms; Encyclopaedia of Islam, Third Edition; and Historical Atlas of Islam. NOTE: Best viewed with any browser except Chrome.
1 user. Search for keyword or browse the Table of Contents.
Includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures. Covers events of the time period between 1670 - 1815.
3,000 articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century with a focus on Europe and cultures with whom Europe came into contact.
Historical sound recordings from the collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
