Abstracts and indexes the journal literature for virtually every life sciences discipline: including biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science. 1926 - present.
BioOne.1. provides full text access to 101 journals and the ability to browse an additional 100 journal table of contents. Journals are published by the AIBS societies and related organizations. PLEASE NOTE: if an article is not full-text, request it through interlibrary loan, do NOT pay for access. Ask library staff for help.
PubMed, a free National Library of Medicine database, includes over 27 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. For help, view PubMed Basics or the more in-depth PubMed Tutorial. Nursing students, be sure to view the tutorial PubMed for Nurses.
Login required to access BU's subscription resources
Indexes more than 4.8 million records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, including journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports.
Provides access to 20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides for labeling, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body system, pronunciation guide, quizzes and more.
The American Geosciences Institute (AGI) continued the Antarctic Bibliography and the Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology (formerly produced by the Library of Congress) as part of the Cold Regions Bibliography Project from 2000 through September 2011.
These bibliographies provide coverage of:
Antarctic research and exploration
Cold Regions engineering and physical science information
AGI compiled the Cold Regions Bibliography based on sources provided by U.S. and overseas scientists, the Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory (CRREL), the National Science Foundation (NSF), and libraries and polar and research institutions worldwide. Last updated 2011. NSF
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including scholarly, government and general-interest titles with content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia is an internationally prominent scientific reference compilation, first published in German in the late 1960s, under the editorship of zoologist Bernhard Grzimek (1909–1987). In a cooperative effort between Gale and the American Zoo and Aquarium Association, the series has been revised, updated, and expanded from 13 to 17 volumes.