Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 13,200 publications, including magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. More than 13,000 publications are full-text and 9,000+ are peer-reviewed journals. 1887 - present.
Also includes more than 74,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present and helps round out student research
Indexes 700+ periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Covers librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Mid-1960's -- present.
Contains the Bloomsburg Daily (first daily newspaper published in Columbia County, PA) from Feb. 1892 - Jan. 1902, Feb. - Jul. 1903, Aug. - Dec. 1904, and Mar. 1906 - Jan. 1909 (in Jul. 1908 title changed to Bloomsburg Daily Mail). Missing periods are filled in with issues from the Democratic Sentinel (twice-weekly ed. of both papers) for: Feb. 1902 - Jan. 1903, Aug. 1903 - Jul. 1904, and Jan. 1905 - Feb. 1906. Open Access from BUPA
A paper index to the contents of the Bloomsburg Daily, Daily Mail, and the Democratic Sentinel can be found at the Harvey A. Andruss Library at Marriage and Death Notices in Columbia County, Pennsylvania Newspapers, v.5. Compiled and Edited by Stephen R. Wiist, with the Assistance of David Magolis. Prepared for the Use of the Columbia County Historical and Genealogical Society, 2005. Funds for this project were supplied in part by a Library Services and Technology Act grant awarded by the Commonwealth Libraries of Pennsylvania.
Based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography”, this database contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries, over a 160-year period.
Provides public access to digitized materials from the collections of the Margaret Herrick Library. Currently contains more than 35,000 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music and movie star ephemera. The database also includes complete copies of more than 450 Academy publications, dating back to the founding of the organization in 1927.
ARTstor is a searchable repository of over 2.5 million images (and growing) covering the arts, architecture, humanities, as well as the social and natural sciences.
Users may view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes
Videos showing how to use ARTstor available here. NOTE: You may access the Digital Library remotely for up to 120 days by registering for an ARTstor account while on-campus.
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives
Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 230,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.
Contains full or excerpted primary sources from the 20th century, including oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
Provides access to the entire print DLB, including nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including historians, journalists, publishers, and screenwriters.
Includes Encyclopaedia of Islam (English), Second Edition, Glossary and Index of Terms; Encyclopaedia of Islam, Third Edition; and Historical Atlas of Islam. NOTE: Best viewed with any browser except Chrome.
1 user. Search for keyword or browse the Table of Contents.
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work (2008) contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work.
Includes the following Gale Virtual Reference Library titles: College Blue Book, Contemporary Musicians, Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence, Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, American Decades, World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems, Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, and Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices.
Covers all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art. Includes biographies of major artists, architects and patrons, architecture, painting, new media, photography, sculpture, installation art, performance art, new media art, art education, and more.
Drawing upon the expansive scholarship in The Dictionary of Art (DOA) it adds hundreds of new entries not previously covered in the DOA.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia is an internationally prominent scientific reference compilation, first published in German in the late 1960s, under the editorship of zoologist Bernhard Grzimek (1909–1987). In a cooperative effort between Gale and the American Zoo and Aquarium Association, the series has been revised, updated, and expanded from 13 to 17 volumes.
Includes: Children's Literature Review (1976-present), Contemporary Literature Criticism (1973-present), Drama Criticism (1991-2014), Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism (1981-present), Shakespearean Criticism (1984-2014), Twentieth Century Criticism 1978-present).
Online access to the Oxford English Dictionary, the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. Includes word histories, taxonomies, and sources of definitions, and is searchable by a number of categories of definitions.
With over 10,000 entries, the Oxford Dictionary of Music (previously the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music) offers broad coverage of a wide range of musical categories spanning many eras, including composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, and musical instruments and their history.
Bibliographic and publisher information on 300,000+ periodicals, including academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.