Government Documents @ Andruss Library

From the Smithsonian, letters, sketches, and other material for art historians

A tour of the art collections of the White House (archived site)

An online tour of the National Gallery

Information and images from the Senate archives and special collections

Provides the administrative and engineering support for U.S. government-funded non-military international broadcast services

Private corporation created by Congress in 1967

Comprehensive listing of decisions, reports, and public notices from 1986 to the present.

Independent agency charged with regulating communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable

The President's advisory committee on telecommunications

Independent agency charged with regulating communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable

See especially their Cyber Crime pages

CCIPS website from the Department of Justice

National security through cryptography

Now housed in the Department of Justice, the ATF works to regulate the firearms and explosives industries

A bureau within the Department of Justice

CCIPS website from the Department of Justice

Research the bureau's history, mission, and investigations

Statistics and information on corrections, courts, crime, crime prevention, drugs, the justice system, juvenile justice, law enforcement, and victims. From the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice.

Establishes policies, priorities, and objectives for the Nation's drug control program

From the Bureau of Justice Statistics

Crime statistics from the FBI

Link to various agencies within the department

U.S. government agency that oversees the sentencing guidelines for the U.S. federal courts.

Homepage for the department. Learn about its history, duties, and functions

The central bank of the United States

Protects and maintains the integrity of the securities market

Works to protect the interests of small businesses

Independent federal agency working to protect US import interests

Kid's guide to the US government

Learn about the history and duties of the department. Link to free teaching resources and lesson plans.

Searchable database of Department of Education resources (many full text)

Federally funded education resources

Alphabetical listing of subject pages for kids from the federal government

Drug information from the Office of National Drug Control Policy

To improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans

FDA is the federal agency responsible for ensuring that food, human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, cosmetics, and electronic products that emit radiation are safe

Provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.

Provides food safety information to educators, industry, researchers and the general public

Portal for health-related information from the government

Free on-line health database from the National Health Information Center; information tends to be less technical

Free online health database from the National Library of Medicine; information tends to be more technical

The world's largest medical library; use their PubMed search service to find articles

Provides easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers.

Database of photos, images, and videos having to do with public health, natural disasters, and the environment.

The 100 milestone documents in United States history, full-text with photos and information on each document.

Information on the Civil War and its battle sites from the National Park Service

U.S. Congressional documents from 1774-1875, including legislation and floor debates

Compilation of many Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports from 1990. CRS reports provide excellent overviews of timely topics.

Contains over 3,000 documents from the FBI. Includes topics such as UFOs, gangsters, and Watergate.

Primary documents from the State Department detailing foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity; provided by the University of Wisconsin

Primary documents from the State Department detailing foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity; provided by the State Department

History and archeology links from the National Park Service

Online access to government archives

One of the Smithsonian Museums

Hosted at George Washington University, the National Security Archive works for government transparency. On its website you will find the largest archive of declassified U.S. documents.

A database of peace agreements around the world, compiled by the United States Institute of Peace

America’s national institution for the documentation, study, and interpretation of Holocaust history

A guide from the University of Pennsylvania that recommends print and electronic resources for researching voting patterns

Website that has posted leaked classified United States documents.

Digital images of propaganda posters from World War II

The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world.

Link from here to various literature-related pages from the Library of Congress

The Center fosters and enhances the public's appreciation of literature through an annual literary season of public poetry, fiction and drama readings, performances, lectures and symposia.

Full-text images of original papers from Walt Whitman, from the Library of Congress

Independent grant-making agency for the humanities (if you are using Internet Explorer, the "Back Button" will not work)

Improving communication from the government to the public

Collection from the Library of Congress

The nation's cultural center

Independent grant-making agency for the arts

Nation's only national park for the performing arts

Digitized versions of the Pennsylvania Department of Mines annual reports for selected years.

The department advances the national, economic, and energy security of the United States; promotes scientific and technological innovation in support of that mission; and ensures the environmental cleanup of the national nuclear weapons complex.

Defense Technical Information Center. Provides access to declassified defense research & development reports.

FDA is the federal agency responsible for ensuring that food, human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, cosmetics, and electronic products that emit radiation are safe

Search through Department of Energy research and technical reports from 1991 forward. Some older documents are included as well.

Extensive collection of online maps.

Provides access to technical research reports from NASA.

The nation's chief resource for agricultural information; search the AGRICOLA catalog

The Office of National Marine Sanctuaries, in the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Independent grant-funding agency for science and engineering

The largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information

Protecting public health and safety through regulation of nuclear power and the civilian use of nuclear materials

Digitized collection of the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th PA Geological Surveys, from Penn State University

Portal for science information provided by government agencies

Searchable videos highlighting Department of Energy topics. Videos may be downloaded and embedded into BOLT or presentations.

This site is the homepage for the vulcanology program at the Smithsonian Institution. It provides links to various Smithsonian developed sites on the study and history of volcanoes as well as to other sites dedicated to volcanoes. Provides information of the volcanoes of the world, the volcanic activity reports. Includes a volcano database searchable by regions and names.

Provides scientific information on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water

Online portal for scientific information from governments around the world

Promotes the economic and social well-being of children and families, within the Department of Health and Human Services

Your place for demographic statistics

Dedicated to protecting health and promoting quality of life through the prevention and control of disease, injury, and disability.

Promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families by connecting child welfare, adoption and related professionals as well as concerned citizens to timely, essential information.

Learn about the history and duties of the department. Link to statistics and information about schools, higher education, and school-age children.

The United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services

Research and information from the National Institutes of Health

From the Department of Justice

From the Department of Justice; Statistics on offenders, victims, and the justice system

From the Department of Labor; Provides labor economic statistics

Your place for demographic statistics

Dedicated to protecting health and promoting quality of life through the prevention and control of disease, injury, and disability.

Learn about the history and duties of the department. Link to statistics and information about schools, higher education, and school-age children.

The United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services

The department seeks to increase homeownership, support community development and increase access to affordable housing free from discrimination

Laws, regulations, and information about federal laws prohibiting job discrimination

Website for the Office of Immigration Statistics, from the Department of Homeland Security

Census microdata for social and economic research.

The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

A set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.