LibGuides: History Research: 3. Newspaper Websites

Newspaper Websites and Wire Services

Free news online.

The Chronicle Herald (Halifax)
The Globe and Mail
The Hill Times
An independent weekly covering Canadian federal government and political news.
The National Post
The New York Times
International Herald Tribune
Reuters
The Times (London)
Nova Scotian newspapers
Compiled by the Nova Scotia Genealogy Network Association, this list provides contact information and links to websites, if available, for currently published Nova Scotia daily and community newspapers.
The Washington Post
International newspapers
From the Internet Public Library, links to newspapers online around the world, organized by region and country.

Historical Newspapers

Bloomsburg University Local Newspapers Collection - Access to images of newspapers from Columbia County published between 1857 and 1915

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers - Access images of newspapers from across the United States published between 1789 and 1963, with free access supplied by the Library of Congress.

Chronicling America: Historic Pennsylvania Newspapers - Access images of newspapers from across Pennsylvania published between 1789 and 1922.

Historical New York Newspapers - A free repository of the full-text of more than 26,000,000 pages of newspapers from across the state of New York, dating from the 1700s to 2000.

International Newspaper Digitization Projects - A listing of newspaper digitization efforts from across the world, both free access and by subscription, to the full-text of the historic content of hundreds of national and international newspapers.

Google Newspaper Archive - A browsable archive of page images from the historic content of United States and Canadian newspapers.

Stars and Stripes Newspaper Archive - A searchable database of more than 1,000,000 pages from the independent daily newspaper of the United States military, spanning the period 1942 to 1999.