LibGuides: History Research: 1. Article Indexes

Article Indexes for History

A great place to start your research is with an index. For instance, the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature in print is a great place to get information on a variety of topics. The Reader's Guide can be found in the Reference Collection under AI3 .R48 c. 2. Below are electronic indexes available through our databases.

America: History and Life with Full Text
Indexes more than 1,700 scholarly U. S. and Canadian history journals, with full-text coverage for nearly 290 journals and more than 100 books. Good source for book and media reviews and dissertation information. 1955 - present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Database of the world's scholarly literature in history (except U. S. & Canada) and related fields. Indexes articles from more than 1,800 journals, and provides access to 349 full-text journals and more than 120 full text books.
Academic Search Ultimate
Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASU indexes more than 13,200 publications, including magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Nearly all publications are full-text and more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals. Also includes more than 74,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present and helps round out student research. 1887 - present.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Access to policy and strategy documents from federal, state, and local government agencies; international governments and institutions; and research institutions, universities, and think tanks.

Is it peer-reviewed?

Need to find out if a journal is peer-reviewed?

Look at the journal's submission guidelines or consult Ulrich's Periodicals Directory. Search for your journal by title and look for the column icon indicating that it's refereed (i.e. peer-reviewed).