LibGuides: History Research: Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Databases

Licensed Databases of Newspapers

Chronicle Campuswide
Contains current issue of *The Chronicle of Higher Education* and the entire backfile back to September 1989; the weekly magazine, *The Chronicle Review*; all content from the annual *Almanac*; plus additional content including special, single-topic
Early American Newspapers, Series II and III
Online access to digitized collections of over 200 American newspapers dating from 1758-1900 (Series II) and 1829-1922 (Series III). Includes a selection of newspapers from across the United States.
U.S. Newsstream
Full text to more than 25 papers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.
Newspaper Source
Selected full text for 40+ national (U.S.) and international newspapers,full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Pennsylvania Gazette
Full text database of the Pennsylvania Gazette, published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, and considered to be the U.S. newspaper of record of the 18th century.

Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
Historical Newspaper known for its coverage of the American Civil War that was popular with readers on both sides; its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allen Poe; and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world.

May not be cross-searched with other Proquest, non-historical databases.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003)
Historical Newspaper covering U.S. westward expansion into Ohio and the Northwest Territory, the political unrest leading to the U.S. Civil War, and the industrial revolution, among other topics.

May not be cross-searched with Proquest non-historical databases.
Washington Post (1877 - 2001)
Historical Newspaper from 1877 to 2003 offering full page and article images with searchable full-text.

May NOT be searched in combination with other Proquest non-historical databases.