VitalSource, which provides 'Inclusive Access' textbooks to BU students, is offering free access for up to 7 textbooks per student until May 25. Students must log in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their school email address to create an account and access. Instructions on how to do so available on this page. VitalSource provides free access to the APA Publication Manual 7th ed.
Another etextbook vendor, RedShelf provides students with free access up to seven free eBooks, through May 25th. Offer does not include courseware. Use this link to register. RedShelf provides free access to APA Publication Manual 7th ed.
The Philharmonie Berlin is closed until 19 April to help contain the coronavirus. But the orchestra will continue to play for you – in the Digital Concert Hall. The Berliner Philharmoniker invite you to visit their virtual concert hall free of charge.
JoVE publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research. All Education video content is free to use in STEM teaching efforts through June 15th. Fill out their form to request access here. A 'Coronavirus Free Access Resource Center' is also freely available here.
In addition to titles already licensed, Kanopy is making available a collection of films that our campus can watch at NO COST starting Monday, March 16th through April 12th. Download the full list of titles here. In additional, all selections in the Kanopy catalog from The Great Courses will be available to use at no additional cost for the next 4 weeks.
The new offering will begin on Monday, March 16 with the 2010 HD performance of Bizet’s Carmen. All “Nightly Met Opera Streams” will begin at 7:30pm and will remain available via the homepage of metopera.org for 20 hours. The homepage link will open the performance on the Met Opera on Demand streaming service. The performance will also be viewable on all Met Opera on Demand apps.
Adobe is providing free 90-day access for Adobe Connect, until July 1st, 2020. Individuals and business who aren’t customers can now use Adobe Connect rooms with up-to 25 participants for free for up to 90 days if they sign-up for a trial license between now and July 1st.
-Access to digital, course-specific resources that you can use to flesh out your online "lectures"—including videos, simulations, animations, activities, flashcards, quizzes, test banks, PowerPoints, and more—that can all be loaded directly into your LMS
-Instructions on how to access your desk copy as an eBook
-Free access for your students to OUP Higher Education eBooks for the balance of this term
-Free access to online courses from our sister company Epigeum to help you learn strategies for managing the digital classroom
-Webinars for teaching specific disciplines online
We encourage you to check back regularly as we continue to update with additional resources. Please note: you don’t need to have adopted an OUP text to use these resources. In fact, we encourage you to share this email with any colleagues who you think will find these helpful.
Online lesson creation and student interaction tool, SoftChalk is offering free access to SoftChalk Cloud from now through May 31, 2020 to anyone who may need it to quickly and easily create online lessons and course materials for delivery to students.
EBSCO is partnering with publishers to provide unlimited access to ebooks in the eBook Collection already purchased by libraries, from March 16 - June 30. Unlimited access will also be provided to new books purchased during this time, published by more than 300 participating publishers.
Includes Library-owned, NetLibrary, and KLN-owned titles
Unlimited access to all BU library-owned titles from specific publishers through mid-June. All licenses – including single-user and three-user models – automatically convert to unlimited access during this period, Click to view the list of Participating Publishers.
The Internet Archive is suspending their waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in their lending library collection of books, through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later.
26 newly released Public Health journals available for free access through June 30, 2020. Topics addressed include Epidemiology, Health Policy and Administration, Occupational and Environmental Health, Health Equity and the Culture of Health, Aging, Bioethics, and Health Promotion.