Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

What's New @ Andruss Library

Bloomsburg University Archives Celebrates 50th Year Anniversary

by Courtney Paddick on 2022-11-07T00:00:00-05:00 | Comments

The Bloomsburg University Archives is celebrating its 50th anniversary since its founding in the fall of 1972. To celebate, there will be an open house during the week of November 14 to 18. Originally located in an Archives Room in the first Andruss Library (now the Warren Student Service Center), it moved to the Hartline Center in 1974 and actively began collecting the historical records of the institution. Five years later the College Archives moved to the Bakeless Center, where it remained until the current Andruss Library opened in May 1998. The Open House will be held in the University Archives, Room 320 on the third floor of the library, with varied hours each day. 

  • Monday, Nov. 14, 9 a.m. – Noon 
  • Tuesday, Nov. 15, 9 a.m. – Noon 
  • Wednesday, Nov. 16, 1 – 4 p.m. 
  • Thursday, Nov. 17, 1 – 4 p.m. 
  • Friday, Nov. 18, 9 a.m. – Noon, 1 – 4 p.m. 

Currently on display in the window cases to the Archives are recent acquisitions from the past three years. An exhibit to be installed next week in the three large cases in front of Room 320 will feature different aspects of the history of the Archives over the past 50 years and how it has worked to preserve our institutional memory. During the Open House visitors can walk through the Archives and see unusual and interesting items from its collections, with some light refreshments provided. 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

About Us 

Chronicle of Higher Education

Renew Books Online

Suggestion Box

Library Fines

Giving to the Library

Request a Purchase

Open Computers

Student Employment

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000