LibGuides: Biology Research: Where to start?

Sources for science news

Both of the following resources contains news stories about science. If you are off-campus, you'll need to first login with your SSO at the prompt.

Science News
Published biweekly by the Society for Science & the Public, Science News contains articles on science, medicine and technology. To search by topic, use 'Search within this Publication,' or browse issues listed on the right.

Science Magazine
Published by the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science, Science includes a news section, with Latest News and Science Insider, billed as "Breaking news and analysis from the world of science policy."
* truncation

These online web resources may help you develop a topic for your research.

Biology Online
Includes a dictionary, many Web links, and tutorials for Cell Biology, Genetics & Evolution, Control & Development, Biological Regulation, Adaptation, Freshwater Ecology, Developmental Biology, and Neurology.
EPA Web - Advanced Search
Documents retrieved from this search of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's site include policy statements, environmental assessments, and pollution statistics.
Google Scholar
Use Google's search engine for "scholarly literature" to find subscribed sources on and off-campus. Go to Menu>Settings>Library Links to enable Bloomsburg University links to view subscribed resources. Look for "FullText@BloomU" links.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Login to view the Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, an internationally prominent scientific reference compilation, first published in German in the late 1960s, under the editorship of zoologist Bernhard Grzimek (1909–1987). In a cooperative effort between Gale and the American Zoo and Aquarium Association, the series has been revised, updated, and expanded from 13 to 17 volumes.

The Virtual Library: Bio Sciences
Links are categorized by Biodiversity and Ecology, Biotechnology, Botany, Cell Biology , Developmental Biology , Environment, Genetics, Medicine, Microbiology and Virology, Model Organisms, Mycology (fungi), Neurobiology, Parasitology, Physiology, etc.

These online journals may help you identify topical issues for your research.

Biological Reviews
Contains several review articles per issue. Although scholarly and with extensive bibliographies, the articles are aimed at non-specialist biologists as well as researchers in the field.
BMC Biology
Contains peer-reviewed research and methodology articles of special importance and broad interest in any area of biology, as well as commissioned reviews, opinion pieces, comment and Q&As on topics of special or topical interest.
eLife
Research in the life sciences and biomedicine, from the most fundamental and theoretical work, through to translational, applied, and clinical research.
The FASEB Journal: Journal of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology
Latest research reports and reviews of epigenetics, iRNA mechanics, histone acetylation, nitric oxide signaling, eicosanoid biochemistry, angiogenesis, tumor suppressor genes, apoptosis, cytoskeletal function, and human stem cell research.

Nature.com
Provides full-text access to the journal Nature in addition to letters, blogs, file-sharing and social networks.
truncation *

Philosophical transactions. Biological sciences
Each issue aims to create an original and authoritative synthesis, often bridging traditional disciplines, which showcases current developments and provides a foundation for future research, applications and policy decisions.
PLOS Biology
Covers all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface of other disciplines, such as chemistry, medicine, and mathematics.
Quarterly review of biology
Journal has "presented insightful historical, philosophical, and technical treatments of important biological topics since 1926."

Science Magazine
Access to the American Association for the Advancement of Science journal Science plus additional information including news reports, podcasts, videos, images, and more.
* truncation

Look for these and other encyclopedias, atlases, and dictionaries in the Reference Collection on the second floor:

American Insects: A Handbook of the Insects of America North of Mexico (CRC Press) – REF QL474 .A76

Dictionary of Entomology - REF QL473 .S9

Encyclopedia of Insects (Academic Press) REF QL462.3 .E485 2003

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences - REF QH302.5 .E54 2002

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience – REF RC334 .E53 1999

Facts on File Dictionary of Biology – REF QH302.5 .F38 2005

Learning & Memory – REF BF318 .E53 200