LibGuides: American Sign Language/English Interpreting: Getting Started

Subject Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

AL 221

(570) 389-4656

Subjects: Academic Enrichment, American Sign Language/English Interpreting, Children's Literature, Communication Studies, Counseling, Criminal Justice, Education, General (Interdisciplinary), Media & Journalism, Social Work, Sociology

Best Bets

Academic Search Ultimate
Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 13,200 publications, including magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. More than 13,000 publications are full-text and 9,000+ are peer-reviewed journals. 1887 - present.
Also includes more than 74,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present and helps round out student research
Communication Source
Combines Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts (formerly published by Sage). Full text for more than 630 journals, and indexing and abstracting for over 1,100 core titles.
Offers full-text content pertaining to communication studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available.
Education Source
Full text from 1,800+ journals and 550+ books on early childhood to higher education, plus educational specialties like multilingual education, health education, and testing. Also includes education related conference papers.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) via EBSCOhost
The Education Resource Information Center contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Currently indexes and abstracts over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
PsycInfo
Citations and/or summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports for psychology and related disciplines from nearly 2500 journals,
Journal coverage: 1800's - present. Indexing from 1600's - present.

Additional Databases

CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature database indexes more than 5,300 journals and provides full text for 1,400 journals. Includes research instruments, clinical trials, and continuing education modules.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Full Text
Indexes over 500 journals, current books, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide.
truncation *
JSTOR
A searchable collection of over 600 full text journals, some dating back to the 19th century. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
MEDLINE Complete
Provides full text for over 1,800 medical journals, and abstracts from over 5,400 current biomedical journals indexed by the National Library of Medicine.
View a brief tutorial on how to use. EBSCOhost
Project MUSE
A searchable collection of over 300 full text academic press journals covering literature, history, the arts, education, philosophy, political science and more.
truncation *
Social Work Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts the social work literature. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers.1965 - present.
truncation *
SocINDEX with Full Text
Journal articles, books, & conference papers for disciplines including sociology, anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social psych. 1908 - present.
truncation *