What is RSS?
![]()
This icon indicates that an RSS feed is available for the page you are viewing on the Internet.
RSS (Really Simple Syndication) is an easy way to publicize updates from web pages by pushing the new information to a user via an RSS feed. You can learn a lot more about RSS from this Wikipedia article on RSS and from this short video called RSS in Plain English.
To view RSS feeds, you first need an RSS feed reader, like Google Reader, My Yahoo!, Newsgator, or Bloglines. You can even use Microsoft Outlook 2007 as your feed reader, and RefWorks, the Library's bibliographic management program, also offers a feed reader feature.
By periodically checking your feed reader, you can easily get up-to-date information from your favorite news websites, blogs, databases, and more.
How can I put an RSS feed into Outlook?
- Open Outlook so that you can view the "Mail Folders" on the left side of Outlook.
- On the left, right click on RSS Feeds and select "Add a New RSS Feed..." and you will see this dialog box?

- Type or paste the feed URL into the box. For example, if I want all new books from Computer Science beginning with the Library of Congress classification letters, QA, I'll type in the URL: http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?QA and click "Add".
- Repeat to add more feeds.
To see what new books the Library has acquired, click on the RSS Feeds folder in your Outlook mailbox and select the New Books subfolder. A list of new books by title (with links into our catalog, PILOT) will appear in your mailbox.
Did We Help?
What does an RSS feed look like?
An RSS feed is a special URL that you paste into your RSS reader.
Here is the standard format for an Andruss Library New Books RSS feed URL:
http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?
See below for more RSS feeds by subject or by collection.
General Collection RSS Feeds
Following is a list of New Books RSS feeds by Library of Congress Classification letters. (To view more detail in the LC Classification Outline, click on the link for the letter to view its subclasses. You can add an extra letter or letters to limit to a more specific discipline. For example, If you wanted to limit the Science books to ones on Chemistry, you would change the Science feed from Q to QD. )
A -- GENERAL WORKS - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?A
B -- PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?B
C -- AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?C
D -- WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC. - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?D
E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?E
F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?F
G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?G
H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?H
J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?J
K -- LAW - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?K
L -- EDUCATION - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?L
M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?M
N -- FINE ARTS - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?N
P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?P
Q -- SCIENCE - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?Q
R -- MEDICINE - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?R
S -- AGRICULTURE - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?S
T -- TECHNOLOGY - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?T
U -- MILITARY SCIENCE - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?U
V -- NAVAL SCIENCE - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?V
Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL) - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss.cgi?Z
Additional RSS Feeds
Following is a list of some New Books RSS feeds for specific Andruss Library Collection:
■Juvenile Collection - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss-location.cgi?Juv
■U. S. Government Documents Collection - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss-location.cgi?U.S.
■Pennsylvania Government Documents Collection - http://library.bloomu.edu/cgi-bin/bloomdbnewrss-location.cgi?Penn


Loading...
