Skip to main content

Five Year Program Review 2010-2015

Using the ACRL Standards for Libraries in Higher Education as a framework, the Harvey A. Andruss Library performed a Five Year Academic Program Review for the Years 2010 to 2015.

Progress on Previous Goals

Progress on Previous Goals

  • List all goals and associated outcomes from the previous program review. 
    • Include analysis, challenges, and comments

From 2010 Program Review:

  1. Aggressively weed Reference Collection

Status: Complete

The print Reference Collection was collaboratively and extensively weeded three times during this review period, in order to ease researchers’ use of contemporary and perennial print Reference resources and to secure additional space.  The weeding of the print collection was accompanied by a growth in online reference resources.  

  1. Reevaluate print and electronic Government information

Status: Significant progress, and Ongoing

For five years, the Government Documents Collections Coordinator has led an active weeding project of print and microform collections and reduced the Library’s selection list.  Where the materials are available in an online format, the Coordinator has chosen those.  

  1. Physical Space

Status: Complete

  1. Collections

The print Reference Collection was reduced; the Periodicals Collections was weeded and unified.  The weeding of the periodicals was driven largely by the supplanting of print volumes with online journal access, chiefly JSTOR.  The Juvenile and Curriculum Collections were relocated to a more visible space.

b.   Study Space

The Periodicals, Reference, Curriculum, and Juvenile Collections were reduced or consolidated, thereby freeing up space on the first and second floors for open study areas for groups of students.  The Library acquired new upholstered furniture for all floors of the Library.  Offices and storage rooms were repurposed as Group Study Rooms for collaborative learning.  Andruss Library now has 32 Group Study Rooms, the highest number among PASSHE University libraries.

  1. Remain in league with trends in database industry

Status:  Ongoing

The Database Coordinator, Interim Coordinator of Collection Development, Acquisitions staff, and the Director generally stay abreast of industry developments. They communicated concerns and questions to the Library faculty about rising database and journal costs, and, in response, the librarians, Director of Library Services, and Acquisitions staff met to cut journal and index subscriptions based on low usage and curriculum changes, and have obtained lower pricing from journal-package vendors.

The Database Coordinator participates in an email list of the Electronic Resources Committee (ERC) of the Keystone Library Network, a PASSHE-focused library consortium. Thanks to the work of ERC leaders, Andruss Library was able to acquire a number of new EBSCO core and optional electronic resources, which significantly added to the Library’s full-text content while keeping costs relatively low.  

Library faculty have gathered and prioritized suggestions for additional databases for the collection.  When funding is available, they and the Director review the suggestions annually and add materials when possible, especially bearing in mind new programs including the new Nursing DNP (Doctor of Nursing Practice).

  1. Devise internships involving Special Collections

Status:  Ongoing

Annually, there are interns in Archives and/or Special Collections.

  1. Infuse information literacy into the curriculum

Status:  Ongoing

The newly implemented General Education Program (MyCore) includes a Goal for information literacy, whereby students must complete courses that address how to find, evaluate, and ethically use information.  Further, the Library’s Information Literacy program has experienced annual steady and notable increases in sessions taught and in meeting these sessions’ respective learning objectives.

  1. Disjointed functions in Technical Services

Status: Ongoing

Leadership for the areas of Cataloging, Acquisitions, and Collection Development is more consolidated (lying with 2 people as opposed to 4), and workflows are more streamlined.

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Group Study Rooms

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000