This is the "Mission Statement" page of the "About Us" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About Us  

Last Updated: Feb 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.bloomu.edu/generalinfo Print Guide RSS Updates

Mission Statement Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

The Harvey A. Andruss Library (named for a former Bloomsburg University president) provides access to more than 450,000 volumes of books, bound periodicals, and government documents; 2 million microforms; 50,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers in both print and electronic format; and over 150 online databases.

The technologically designed building provides more than 900 study spaces with more than 200 having computer access to the library's and worldwide information resources. There are 19 group study rooms, word processing rooms, photocopying rooms, and a graduate student/faculty study. The building also offers lounge and exhibit spaces and a new University Archives and Special Collections Reading Room. It also provides wireless computer access in all areas of the building.

The library and its facilities are open to the general public.

 

Mission Statement

Mission Statement
The Harvey A. Andruss Library of Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania supports the educational mission of the University through selecting, organizing, preserving, and disseminating information in all its formats and manifestations. The primary responsibility of the organization is to provide the human and technical resources necessary for the University community and secondarily the public to retrieve information effectively. The Library is devoted to developing and implementing programs and services and to building and preserving collections in all their appropriate forms to meet primarily the curricular and general information needs and secondarily the recreational information needs of its users. The Library maintains collections that promote free inquiry and intellectual development and provides instruction in the information gathering and evaluation process. The Library is also committed to working cooperatively with other libraries toward the fulfillment of its mission.

 

Contacts

Contacts
U.S. Mail Address

Harvey A. Andruss Library
Bloomsburg University
400 East Second Street
Bloomsburg, PA 17815-1301

Telephone numbers and e-mail addresses

Services

Circulation Desk 570-389-4205

Library Hours Information Line (Recorded Message) 570-389-2799

Reference Desk 570-389-4204

Administration

Wayne Mohr, Associate Vice President of Technology and Library Services
570-389-4303
Email

Barbara Robbins, Administrative Assistant I, Clerical Support to Assistant VP, Technology & Library Services
570-389-4079
Email

Charlotte Droll, Director of Library Services
570-389-4207
Email

Lorraine Letcavage, Administrative Assistant I, Office of Technology and Library Services
570-389-4077
Email

William Barnes, Library Network Administrator  & Manager, Desktop Support, Technology Support Services
570-389-2813
Email

Faculty

Darla Bressler, Associate Professor, Research Librarian/Education Subject Specialist
570-389-4656
Website
Email

Michael J. Coffta, Associate Professor, Research Librarian/Subject Specialist for Business
570-389-4124
Website
Email

Robert A. Dunkelberger, Associate Professor, University Archivist/Coordinator of Special Collections
570-389-4210
Website
Email

Marilou Z. Hinchcliff, Associate Professor, Coordinator of Cataloging and Interim Coordinator of Collection Development
570-389-4226
Website
Email

Linda Neyer, Associate Professor, Research Librarian/Subject Specialist for Science and Health Sciences/Database Coordinator/Faculty Chairperson
570-389-4801
Website
Email

Kathryn Yelinek, Associate Professor, Government Documents Coordinator / Research Librarian
570-389-4228
Email
Website

View a list of Librarian Liaisons

Non-Instructional Staff

Gail Berbick, Library Assistant/ Access Services
570-389-4398
Email

Elizabeth Frederick, Library Assistant/Cataloging
570-389-4789
Email

Karen Henrie, Library Assistant/Binding/Overdues/Access Services
570-389-4211
Email

Joyce M. Hauck, Library Technician/ Acquisitions
570-389-4727
Email

Linda Lapp, Evening Library Assistant Supervisor / Access Services
570-389-5166
Email

Beth Ann Norton, Library Technician/ Cataloging
570-389-4862
Email

Lori Osborne, Library Assistant Supervisor/ Student Assistant Supervisor/ Access Services
570-389-4220
Email

Andrea Schwartz, Coordinator of Interlibrary Loan/Access Services
570-389-4218
Email

Daniel Walz, Library Assistant 1
570-389-4206
Email

 

The Library Building

The Library Building

This graphic is a drawing of the library building, which opened May 26, 1998. Among the features of this building are:

  • Four levels encompassing 105,000 square feet
  • Study seating for more than 1,000 students and faculty
  • Stack space for more than 400,000 volumes
  • 18 group study rooms for 6-12 students
  • 500 public-access connections for personal computers, with conduits for future connections
  • Personal computers to access the library's online catalog, CD-ROM and Web databases
  • Word processing rooms and equipment on all levels
  • Lobby space for local, regional and national traveling exhibits
  • Night study room for student use when the library is closed
  • Meeting room with facilities for audio-visual and television programs
  • Exhibit space for the University Archives and Special Collections
  • Faculty study and committee reading room
  • Up-to-date equipment for viewing more than 1.7 million microforms in the library's collection
  • A classroom and computer laboratory with interactive capabilities for Reference Services
  • Intercoms on all levels for queries to Circulation and Reference Desks
  • Open access to current periodicals as well as pre-1987 journals formerly in storage
  • Three Tiffany and four Spence stained glass windows from "old" Waller Hall
  • A porch reminiscent of The Long Porch from "old" Waller Hall

Additional photos

Additional Information

  • Exhibits
    Online exhibits from the University Archives
  • FAQ
    Answers to Frequently Asked Questions about the library
  • Floor Plans
    Library Floor Plans
  • Policies
    Library Policies, in PDF format
  • Library Hours
    Library hours for the academic year, summer session, and intersessions
  • Library Bill of Rights
    Statement of guiding library principles from the American Library Association
  • Code of Ethics
    State of guiding principles for librarians and other information professionals, from the American Library Association
  • View from Andruss Library (webcam)
    A live view of the academic quad from the Library's 3rd floor.
Search the library's website:

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip