This is the "Library Collections and Locations" page of the "Library Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Collections   Tags: library information  

Last Updated: Dec 9, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.bloomu.edu/content.php?pid=76221 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Library Collections and Locations Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collections Listed on this page

Andruss Library Collections

For more information about additional Andruss Library's collections, use the links below.

 

General

General Collection


The General Collection is the main circulating collection of the library with over 300,000 volumes. Books are check out at the Access Services Desk on the first floor. The General Collection uses the Library of Congress classification system:

  • Call numbers beginning with "A" through "N" are on the Third Floor
  • Call numbers beginning with "P" through "Z" are on the Fourth Floor

(View all floor plans here)

Oversize Books

Oversize books (those over 29 centimeters in height or 25 cm. in width) are shelved separately so maximize shelving and are designated as such in our catalog, for example, Location: Shelved At General Collection OVERSIZE. Oversize General Collection books are shelved following the normal size books on the Fourth Floor (see our floor plans).

Borrowing

Books from the General Collection may be borrowed for 6 weeks by BU students and by patrons with Pennsylvania Resident Borrower's cards. To obtain a PA Resident Borrower's Card, ask for an application at the first floor Access Services desk.

Top

 

Curriculum Collection


Curriculum Collection


The Curriculum Collection supports the faculty and students of the School of Education and addresses the specific needs of future teachers. The collection is comprised of educational methodology books, K-12th grade textbooks, big books, curriculum guides, audio-visual curriculum materials, and educational software. All of these materials are identified via the online catalog, PILOT. The location of these materials is designated "Curriculum Collection" on the catalog, and call numbers are preceded by "Cur" on the spines of the books. Books are classified using Library of Congress Classification System. Oversize curriculum books are shelved at the end of the Curriculum Collection.

Borrowing

  • Books in this collection are shelved on the second floor, next to the Juvenile & Young Adult Collection (see floor plans). They circulate for 6 weeks.
  • Educational videos and software are shelved behind the Circulation Desk on the first floor. They circulate for fourteen (14) days.

Top

 

Juvenile/Young Adult Collection


Juvenile/Young Adult Collection


Located on the 2nd floor of the Andruss Library, the Juvenile Collection is a collection of fiction and non-fiction books written for children and young adults. This collection contains all of the Caldecott and Newbery Award winning titles, as well as many other award-winners. 

This collection was originally the library for the teacher training school formerly housed in the Ben Franklin building, and has continued using the Dewey Decimal classification common to most school libraries; it contains books of interest to a range of readers from beginners through high school. Books are shelved by category: non-fiction, fiction, and oversize. Children's oversize books are shelved at the end of the Juvenile & Young Adult Collection.

Borrowing

Books from the Juvenile Collection may be checked out at the Circulation Desk for 6 weeks.

Top

 

Microform Collection


Microform Collections


What are microforms? They are reduced photographic images of pages, in either microfilm, microfiche, or microprint (see below for more info). Used to archive materials, microfilm and microfiche were the two most popular archival media of the twentieth century. Microform readers or reader/printers must be used to magnify the text.

Andruss Library owns microfilm for older, back issues of many periodicals and newspapers. Most of our microfiche contain monograph sets or closed serial sets rather than serial subscriptions. Identify titles and accession numbers of microform sets in the Microform Sets Database searchable below. It contains records of numbered microform sets (microfilm, microfiche, or microprint) held by the Harvey A. Andruss Library.

Microform Sets Database
Search By Keyword

Search Terms (ex: American Colonial Records):

Terms searched:   All of these   Any of these

Check terms for spelling, then submit:
Display All Records

Using Microforms
Students, faculty, staff, and members of the local community are welcome to come into the Library and use the microform collections. Printing from the older Reader/Printer machines is available for $.10/page. Ask for assistance at the Circulation Desk.

More about microforms

Microfilm

The Andruss Library purchases microfilm for back runs of many of its periodicals and newspapers, and most of these are 35mm microfilm reels. The reels are arranged alphabetically by publication title in the tall shelves near the Reader/Printers. Numbered microfilm series follow those filed by title.

Microfiche

A typical microfiche is a 4" x 6" sheet of film. Andruss acquires these for storage of reports, documents, and older books. Microfiche sets are in numbered series in the lower cabinets near the microfilm shelves.

Microprint

While fiche and film are transparent, microprint is an opaque medium and is seldom used by publishers today. Readex Microprint, which comprises the bulk of this collection, measures roughly 9" X 5 7/8". Opaque microcards are roughly 3" X 5" and are filed in cabinets preceding the microfiche on the First Floor.

Readers/Printers

The library provides several readers and reader/printers, including three newer machines that create digital images from microfilm; there are also older machines for microfiche and a single reader/printer for microprint. All machines are on the First Floor.

Top

 

Newspaper Collections


Newspaper Collections


The Library subscribes to over thirty print newspapers and provides access to hundreds more electronically. Current print newspapers are shelved near the Circulation Desk, and many print newspaper back issues are available in microfilm on the 1st floor. Identify titles, dates, and locations for print or microform newspapers (not online) in the database below, which contains records of newspapers held by the Andruss Library in paper copy or microform (microfilm or microfiche). 

Newspaper Holdings Database
Search By Keyword
Search Terms, e.g. Bloomsburg:

Terms searched:   All of these   Any of these

Check terms for spelling, then submit:
Display All Records
Using Newspapers
Print newspapers (including microfilm) cannot be checked out. You may scan, photocopy, or print desired articles. Ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance.

More about newspapers
Online_Newspapers Many current newspapers are available in full text electronically may be identified and accessed using the the Newspapers Subject Guide or the BU Journal List . Very few newspapers are available electronically prior to 1980, with some exceptions:  the Bloomsburg Digital Collections or the Underground Press sets below.
Genealogy_Research The Columbia County Historical and Genealogical Society has created databases for genealogical research linked from Newspaper Notices of Marriages and Deaths Found in the Columbia Democrat, Columbian, and Columbia County Republican. Contact the Columbia County Historical and Genealogical Society for genealogy research requests.
The_Underground_Press

Also known as the Underground Newspapers, this series allows students and researchers access to more than 550 underground newspapers dating from 1963 to 1985. It is supplemented by materials from the Hoover Institution and the University of Missouri sets:

  • Underground Press Collection: Microfilm Series #748 in 476 Reels, Index: PN 4784.U53 1986
  • Underground Press Collection Hoover Institution Supplement: Microfilm Series #748 in 16 reels, Index: PN 4784.U53 U532 1986
  • Underground Press Collection University of Missouri: Microfilm Series #748UM in 9 reels, Index: PN 4784.U53 U533 1986
Top
 

Media


Media Collections


TYPE   
DESCRIPTION    
BORROWING

Scores

This library has several hundred musical scores. They are stored in various locations depending on their size. Those whose call number begins with the word "score" are stored in a two drawer file cabinet located at the northeast corner of the 1st Floor. In PILOT (online catalog) limit by Location and choose "Scores."

Scores may be checked out at the Circulation Desk for a four week loan.

Sound Recordings

The library has over 5,000 33 1/3 LPs and over 2,000 compact discs. Most of the recordings are of classical music, but there is also jazz, easy listening, rock, drama, and a variety of others. LPs are located in Compact Shelving on 2nd Floor. Compact discs are located behind the Circulation Desk (see our floor plans). Ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance.

Recordings are cataloged by composer (major works), artist, and type of music in our online catalog. A search by artist or type of music may be limited in PILOT (online catalog), to Location. Choose "Compact Disc Collection," or "Phonodisc Collection."

Phono records and compact discs may be checked out at the Circulation Desk for a one week loan. Please return phonograph records and CDs promptly, as the fines accrue hourly rather than daily. Also, please avoid scratching recordings or subjecting them to extreme heat.

Video Recordings

The Library has over 1000 VHS videotapes and DVDs (NOTE: there are very few commercial motion pictures). They are located behind the Circulation Desk (see our floor plans), along with the CDs. They are searchable by title, title keyword, and video number in PILOT (online catalog).

NOTE: The Library also subscribes to Films on Demand, with over 20,000 streaming videos, available on this page.

Available for 1 week circulation to all patrons with a valid BU ID. Videos are treated like phonograph records and CDs, with fines accruing hourly rather than daily.

Items charged out are subject to recall if needed for classroom instruction. Professors may place videos for course use on Reserve as they do books to ensure their availability when needed for viewing during class time.

Top

 

Periodicals


Periodical Collections


Periodicals are items published periodically or serially, like journals, newspapers, and magazines. In general, journals/newspapers/ magazines are an excellent source for more current information than books. At BU, the Library provides electronic access to over 75,000 electronic journals/newspapers/magazines and subscribes to approximately 300 print journals/newspapers/magazines.

Use the >>BU Journal List<< to view a list of all journals/newspapers/magazines available at BU.

*IF THE JOURNAL IS IN PRINT (hard copy) --> then the BU Journal List displays a BloomU Print Holdings link to PILOT (library catalog), which links to  information about the Library's print holdings (the volumes/issues available and the Collection in which it's shelved).

COLLECTION  
  LOCATION   ARRANGEMENT   DESCRIPTION
Current_Periodicals   2nd Floor   Alphabetical by title   Single paper issues kept for one year in shelves on the second floor.
Bound_Periodicals   4th Floor   Alphabetical by title   Older issues bound together in a 'volume' (book) for durability
Microfilm_Periodicals   1st floor   Alphabetical by title   Older issues filmed on 35mm microfilm reels for storage

*IF THE JOURNAL IS ELECTRONIC --> then the BU Journal List displays link(s) to the full-text online journal(s) and/or database(s) with dates available, which connect to the journal.

Using Periodicals
Print periodicals cannot be checked out. You may scan, photocopy, or print desired articles. Ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance.

TIPS: If searching for articles in journals, use library databases, NOT the BU Journal List or PILOT (library catalog). The BU Journal List is just that, a list of journals, and PILOT will only tell you if the Library subscribes to a journal, not what's in it. If questions, ask a librarian.

To do this: Use:     Here's how:
Find if the Library has a particular journal ("check our holdings") BU Journal List Search by the Journal Title
Find an article on a topic in a journal ("search databases for a topic") Databases by Subject Select a discipline/subject, read the library database descriptions, pick a suitable database, and then search it using your keywords
Find a particular article ("find a citation") Citation Linker  or
Google Scholar

Citation Linker: search by DOI or citation infoGoogle Scholar: search by citation info

Top

 

Popular Reading Collection


Popular Reading Collection

 

The library maintains a small collection of "fun" reading books, including Young Adult, mystery, fantasy, romance, thriller, and light nonfiction books.  These books are located on two double-sided, free-standing shelves near the Circulation Desk on the first floor.  Books are arranged by the author's last name.

 

Borrowing

Popular Reading books can be checked out at the Circulation Desk for 6 weeks. 

Top

 

Reference


Reference Collection


The Library has both electronic and print reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, compendia of statistics, collections of quotations, indexes, etc.

  • Electronic reference books - many are listed on the Encyclopedias, etc. web page and all are listed in PILOT, the Library catalog. When searching PILOT, limit search to 'Ebooks' and click on the Web Link to view.

  • Print reference books - search PILOT to find. Limit by Location to Reference Collection and note the call number. The Reference Location is on the 2nd floor. Some special types of reference books include:
    • Atlases and Maps - Because of size and shape, many geographical atlases and all maps are not shelved in the Reference Collection but near it (see floor plans). These include:
      • ATLASES - Oversized geographical atlases are on wall shelves in the corridor near the beginning of Bound Periodicals on the Second Floor. The other geographical atlases are found in the "G's" in the main Reference Collection.
      • MAPS - The cataloged maps are in a map case across from the atlas shelves to the left of the beginning of the Bound Periodicals on the Second Floor.  
    • Indexes and Abstracts - Indexes and Abstracts are used to identify articles published in journals/magazines/ newspapers. Our most heavily used indexes are the online databases. The Library also continues to subscribe to several indexes in paper copy, which are in the Reference Collection (2nd floor) or near the Microfilm Collection (1st floor)

Using Reference Books
Reference books normally are not checked out. Readers may photocopy or scan pages of short sections of books they wish to read outside the library. Special loans are available for some reference books. Ask at the Circulation Desk.

Top

 

Reserve


Course Reserve


Reserves (sometimes called reserve readings) are materials kept in the Library that professors may require students to read, view, or use for class. Reserves are kept behind the Circulation Desk (see our floor plans) and must be requested by their title and reserve number/call number (if a library book). Reserve materials are usually in high demand and thus may be used only for brief periods of time. Depending upon the professor's instructions, reserve material circulates for varying periods: 2 hours in the Library, 1 day, 3 days, or 7 days.

Use the >>Course Reserve search in PILOT<< to view a list of materials placed reserve by your professor

Instructions for finding and using course reserve materials

  1. Click on the link above (or this link) to access PILOT, the Library catalog
  2. On the Course Research search page, select either your instructor's name OR the department for the class OR your course number. Click Search.
  3. Navigate to the list of materials placed on Reserve for your class.
  4. Under each item is that item's location (Main Circulation Desk) and the call number. The call number will be either an "X" number (X 1693) or a call number if one of the library's books
  5. Make a note of the number and ask for the reading by number at the Circulation Desk, presenting your BU ID card to check it out.
  6. Be sure to return the item promptly when due as others may be waiting for it and overdue fines are $1.00/hour for reserves. You may photocopy or scan the pages you need. Ask at the Circulation Desk if questions.

Top

 

Got a question?

Have a question?

Help Videos

"How to" videos

 

On finding books

Search the library's website:

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | Comment or suggestion? Let us know
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip