Books & Gray LiteratureImagesMagazines/JournalsNewspapers
Art & Art HistoryChildren's LiteratureCommunication StudiesEnglish & American LiteratureLanguages & CultureMass CommunicationMusicPhilosophyTheatre/Dance
AccountingBusiness EducationComputer & Information SystemsEconomicsFinanceManagementMarketing
Children's Literature
Allied Health SciencesAudiologyExercise Science & AthleticsNursingSpeech Pathology
Biological SciencesChemistryComputer ScienceEngineering TechnologyGeographyGeosciencesHealth PhysicsInstructional TechnologyMathematics & StatisticsPhysics
AnthropologyCriminal JusticeHistoryLegal StudiesPolitical SciencePsychologySocial WorkSociology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Databases by Subject 

Use this guide to identify library databases/indexes for a particular discipline or subject domain. Databases provide access to high quality information.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.bloomu.edu/dbsubject  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.            Print Page
  
 

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.

  • American Heritage Dictionary  
      
    The 4th edition of the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, published in 2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company. EBSCOhost
  • APA Style Guide to Electronic References  
      
    Expanded and updated from the Electronic Resources section of the Fifth Edition of the *Publication Manual of the APA*. American Psychological Association
  • AP Images  
      
    AP photos, graphics (maps, charts, graphs, logos, etc.), and 4600+ hours of audio clips (1920 - present).
  • ARBAonline  
      
    Contains 15,000+ reference book reviews published in the American Reference Books Annual, beginning with Volume 28. 1997 - present.
  • College Blue Book  
      
    Electronic access to 6 volume set providing information on colleges & universities in the U.S. and Canada, their programs, degrees, and financial aid sources. Arranged geographically and by subject. Thomson-Gale
  • Contemporary Authors  
      
    Bio-Bibliographical Guide to Current Writers in Fiction, General Nonfiction, Poetry, Journalism, Drama, Motion Pictures, Television. Gale-Cengage
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography  
    Provides access to the entire print DLB, including nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including historians, journalists, publishers, and screenwriters. Gale
  • Encyclopedia of Aesthetics  
    Includes more than six hundred essays on approximately four hundred individuals, concepts, periods, theories, issues, and movements in the history of aesthetics, ranging from the most ancient aesthetic traditions around the world to the Greco-Roman era, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, Romanticism, Modernism, and Postmodernism, up to the present. Oxford University Press
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam Online  
      
    Full-text to the Encyclopedia of Islam (English), volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII). Search for keyword or browse the Table of Contents. Brill
  • Encyclopedia of Evolution  
      
    Articles on essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, covering both the history of the field and current controversies. Oxford University Press
  • Encyclopedia of GIS  
      
    Covers nearly 200 topics, including major overviews, such as Geoinformatics, Spatial Cognition, and Location-Based Services; shorter entries such as the Global Positioning System, Digital Elevation/Terrain Model, and Remote Sensing. Springer Link
  • Encyclopedia of Global Change  
      
    Addresses a host of topics pertaining to global change, e.g., tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, permafrost melt, etc. Oxford University Press
  • Encyclopedia of Social Problems  
      
    Over 600 entries on all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems. SAGE
  • Encyclopedia of Social Work  
      
    20th edition, published by the NASW Press and Oxford University Press.
  • Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment  
      
    Includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures. Oxford University Press
  • Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages  
      
    All aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. Oxford University Press
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
      
    Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry. EBSCOhost
  • Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture  
    More than 1000 articles spanning the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome as well as the earlier Minoan, Cycladic, Helladic (including Mycenaean) and Etruscan cultures. Oxford University Press
  • Image Collection  
      
    Search for images across multiple EBSCOhost databases including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, EBSCO Animals, Education Research Complete, GreenFILE, and SPORTDiscus with Full Text. EBSCOhost
  • International Encyclopedia of Dance  
      
    Covers all types of dance, plus music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers. Oxford University Press
  • International Encyclopedia of Linguistics  
      
    Full range of topics in linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Oxford University Press
  • OED Online  
      
    Online access to the Oxford English Dictionary, the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium  
      
    1,100 years of Byzantine history. Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance  
      
    Covers the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
    Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature  
      
    350 essays encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt  
      
    The social, political, religious, cultural and artistic history of the 5,000-year civilization. Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature  
      
    History of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature  
      
    Essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in countries throughout the world. Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History  
      
    Provides an overview of the history of economics. Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America  
      
    A history of food in America. Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States  
      
    Over 900 articles addressing such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Rhetoric  
      
    Contains approximately two hundred entries, ranging in size from very short for certain figures of speech to the longer entries such as the one on classical rhetoric. Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance  
      
    Covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performances. Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation  
      
    Covers not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. Oxford University Press
  • Reference Universe  
      
    Interdisciplinary index to over 10,000 specialized encyclopedias, compendia and handbooks, in both print and electronic formats. Customized to our Library, helps you identify the best resources to help you begin your research with truly authoritative articles. Paratext
  • Serials Directory  
      
    Contains over 182,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles and data from over 85,000 publishers worldwide. EBSCOhost
  • Ulrich's Web  
      
    Contains bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the worl
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait