Books & Gray LiteratureImagesMagazines/JournalsNewspapers
Art & Art HistoryChildren's LiteratureCommunication StudiesEnglish & American LiteratureLanguages & CultureMass CommunicationMusicPhilosophyTheatre/Dance
AccountingBusiness EducationComputer & Information SystemsEconomicsFinanceManagementMarketing
Children's Literature
Allied Health SciencesAudiologyExercise Science & AthleticsNursingSpeech Pathology
Biological SciencesChemistryComputer ScienceEngineering TechnologyGeographyGeosciencesHealth PhysicsInstructional TechnologyMathematics & StatisticsPhysics
AnthropologyCriminal JusticeHistoryLegal StudiesPolitical SciencePsychologySocial WorkSociology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Databases by Subject 

Use this guide to identify library databases/indexes for a particular discipline or subject domain. Databases provide access to high quality information.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.bloomu.edu/dbsubject  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Social Science/Law            Print Page
  

Social Science Disciplines

Databases by specific discipline:

 

Quick Search for Books

Search for a book in PILOT (the library catalog):

  Quick Search
 


How do I search PILOT?

 

Does the Library have a journal?




 

How do I search for a journal?

 

Social Science Databases

  • Abstracts in Anthropology  
      
    Abstracts and indexes journal articles in the field of anthropology and its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics. 2001 - present. Metapress
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 9,990 magazines and journals, more than 5,990 of which are full-text. Also indexes monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1887 - present. EBSCOhost
  • America: History and Life  
      
    Indexes over 1,700 scholarly U. S. and Canadian history journals. Good source for book and media reviews and dissertation information. 1964 - present. EBSCOhost
  • Annual Reviews  
      
    Synthesizes primary research literature in 29 scientific disciplines in the Biomedical, Physical, and Social sciences. 1930 - present.
  • AnthroSource  
      
    Provides online access to 15 American Anthropological Association journals. 1980 - present.
  • Black Newspapers  
      
    Contains the full-text *Afro-American Red Star*, *Chicago Defender*, *Michigan Chronicle*, *New York Amsterdam News*, *Los Angeles Sentinel*. Indexes and abstracts *Call & Post*, *Houston Post*, *Muslim Journal*, *New Journal & Guide*. ProQuest
  • Contemporary Women's Issues  
      
    bstracts and/or citations and footnotes from 1500 periodicals on contemporary women's issues. Use "Subject Heading" rather than "Subject". OCLC FirstSearch
  • CQ Researcher  
      
    Reports on social issues, environment, health, education, and science and technology written by journalists and featuring comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. '5 users' license.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts  
      
    Abstracts of articles from over 500 journals, current books, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide. CSA
  • Early American Newspapers, Series II and III  
      
    Online access to digitized collections of over 200 American newspapers dating from 1758-1900 (Series II) and 1829-1922 (Series III) from across the United States. Readex
  • eHRAF World Cultures  
      
    Formerly called the Ethnography Collection, the database contains sections of books, articles, and dissertations for various cultures or ethnic groups and organized by the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF). (Approx. 155 out of 385 cultures are online). Yale University
  • Historical Abstracts  
      
    Database of the world's scholarly literature in history (except U. S. & Canada) and related fields. EBSCOhost
  • Homeland Security Digital Library  
      
    Access to policy and strategy documents from federal, state, and local government agencies; international governments and institutions; and research institutions, universities, and think tanks. Homeland Security Digital Library, U. S. Government
  • In the First Person  
      
    Primary sources (first-person English language narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories). Contains both free and subscription materials, to which Library does not subscribe. Alexander Street Press
  • JSTOR  
      
    A searchable collection of over 600 full text journals, some dating back to the 19th century. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
  • Legal Collection  
      
    Full text for approximately 250 peer-reviewed law journals. Covers criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and more. EBSCOhost
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic: Legal Search  
      
    Search form for Federal and State Cases, combined.
  • Lexis-Nexis Congressional  
      
    Contains legislative information including texts of bills, legislative histories, and Congressional committee hearings.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook  
      
    Produced by the Buros Institute, the MMY contains test entries with descriptive information, professional reviews, and reviewer references on commercially available, English language tests. EBSCOhost
  • Military and Government Collection  
      
    Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 450 periodicals with cover-to-cover full text for more than 350 titles. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets. EBSCOhost
  • Newspaper Source  
      
    Selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. EBSCOhost
  • Points of View Reference Center  
      
    Search for current and controversial topics. Useful for developing arguments, writing position papers, and development of critical thinking skills. EBSCOhost
  • Project MUSE  
      
    A searchable collection of over 300 full text academic press journals covering literature, history, the arts, education, philosophy, political science and more. The Johns Hopkins University Press
  • ProQuest Newspapers  
      
    Citations from over 25 papers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. ProQuest
  • PsycARTICLES  
      
    Full text articles on current issues in psychology from more than 40 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. EBSCOhost
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  
      
    Contains full text for nearly 550 journals, most of which are full-text. EBSCOhost
  • PsycINFO  
      
    Citations and/or summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports for psychology and related disciplines from nearly 2000 journals, 1887 - present. EBSCOhost
  • Research Library  
      
    An interdisciplinary database indexing more than 3,820 periodical titles, over 2,550 of which are full-text. ProQuest
  • Sage Journals Online  
      
    Over 460 full-text journals in business, humanities, education, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.
  • Social Work Abstracts  
      
    Indexes and abstracts the social work literature. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers. EBSCOhost
  • SocINDEX with Full Text  
      
    Indexes journal articles, books, & conference papers, many of which are full-text including over 300 journals. Disciplines covered include sociology, anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social psych. EBSCOhost
  • Sociological Collection  
      
    Contains full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 523 journals in the collection. EBSCOhost
  • Tests in Print  
      
    Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, TIP serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. EBSCOhost
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980  
      
    Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. Readex
  • Washington Post (1877 - 1992)  
      
    Historical Newspaper offering full page and article images with searchable full-text. (May NOT be searched in combination with non-historical databases.) ProQuest
  • Web of Science  
      
    Provides access to ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. SCI indexes 6400+ major journals across 71 disciplines, and SSCI covers 1800+ social sciences journals spanning 54 disciplines. 1986 to the present. ISI
  • Westlaw Campus Research  
      
    Comprehensive collection of news, business, and law related information. Includes access to American Jurisprudence, 2d; American Law Reports; 800+ law reviews and journals; and many primary law sources (USCA, Federal Register, etc).
  • Wiley Interscience  
      
    Provides access to 150+ full-text journals in the sciences, health sciences, and social sciences, including business, education, and psychology. Also provides abstracts to additional journals, books, and other materials.
  • World News Digest  
      
    Facts On File World News Digest since 1940 and selected content from Issues and Controversies On File, Today's Science On File, Editorials On File, Reuters On-Line News Service, etc. Facts on File
  • WorldCat  
      
    Use this database to search the holdings of libraries worldwide. OCLC FirstSearch
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait