Books & Gray LiteratureImagesMagazines/JournalsNewspapers
Art & Art HistoryChildren's LiteratureCommunication StudiesEnglish & American LiteratureLanguages & CultureMass CommunicationMusicPhilosophyTheatre/Dance
AccountingBusiness EducationComputer & Information SystemsEconomicsFinanceManagementMarketing
Children's Literature
Allied Health SciencesAudiologyExercise Science & AthleticsNursingSpeech Pathology
Biological SciencesChemistryComputer ScienceEngineering TechnologyGeographyGeosciencesHealth PhysicsInstructional TechnologyMathematics & StatisticsPhysics
AnthropologyCriminal JusticeHistoryLegal StudiesPolitical SciencePsychologySocial WorkSociology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Databases by Subject 

Use this guide to identify library databases/indexes for a particular discipline or subject domain. Databases provide access to high quality information.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.bloomu.edu/dbsubject  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Science/Tech/Math            Print Page
  
 

Does the Library have a journal?




 

How do I search for a journal?

 

Quick Search for Books

Search for a book in PILOT (the library catalog):

  Quick Search
 


How do I search PILOT?

 

Science Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 9,990 magazines and journals, more than 5,990 of which are full-text. Also indexes monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1887 - present. EBSCOhost
  • ACM Digital Library  
      
    Contains the full text of all articles published by the Association for Computing Machinery, plus articles co-published or co-marketed by ACM and other publishers. 1952 - present.
  • ACS Publications  
      
    Current and back issues of over 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society. 1909 - present.
  • Agricola  
      
    Indexes more than 4.1 million records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, including journal articles, books, theses, patents, and technical reports. 1970 - present. EBSCOhost
  • American Association of Physicists in Medicine Reports  
      
    The AAPM has made over 100 reports available for free online. 1977 - present.
  • Annual Reviews  
      
    Synthesizes primary research literature in 29 scientific disciplines in the Biomedical, Physical, and Social sciences. 1930 - present.
  • Applied Science and Technology Full Text  
      
    Includes the full text for approximately 185 journals from 1997 to present. Wilson Web
  • Biological Abstracts  
      
    Abstracts and indexes life science journal literature; 4,000+ journals indexed from 1997 - present. EBSCOhost
  • BioOne  
      
    Contains the full-text of over 80 academic journals published by American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) member societies and other related organizations. CSA
  • Chemical Abstracts: SciFinder  
      
    The most complete collection of chemical information, with over 18 million abstracts of journal articles, etc.
  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete  
      
    Indexes 1,300+ scholarly and professional publications, 500+ of which are full-text. Covers engineering, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. EBSCOhost
  • FAITS: Faulkner Advisory for Information Technology Studies  
      
    Contains hundreds of online technology reports created for the academic community. Covers IT infrastructure, telecom, wireless communications, data networking, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and WWW, in addition to technology vendors. Faulkner Information Services
  • Geo Ref  
      
    Records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography. Bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals are included in the database as well as books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. EBSCOhost
  • GEOBASE  
      
    Abstracts from over 2000 journals covering the worldwide literature on geology, geography, and ecology. OCLC FirstSearch
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Use Google's search engine for "scholarly literature" via the Andruss Library Web site to link to subscribed sources on and off-campus. Look for "CheckAvailability@BloomU" or "FullText@BloomU" links.
  • GreenFILE  
      
    Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including scholarly, government and general-interest titles with content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. EBSCOhost
  • IEEE Computer Society Digital Library  
      
    Access and search the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers' Computer Society full-text journals, transactions, and conference proceedings.
  • IOPscience  
      
    Provides access to over 80 full-text journals in physics, across scientific, technical and medical disciplines. Institute of Physics
  • JSTOR  
      
    A searchable collection of over 600 full text journals, some dating back to the 19th century. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
  • MathSciNet  
      
    The online version of Mathematical Reviews, which provides timely reviews or summaries of journals (over 1700) and books containing contributions to mathematical research. American Mathematical Society
  • Nature.com  
      
    Provides access to the journal Nature in addition to letters, blogs, file-sharing and social networks. Nature Publishing Group
  • Points of View Reference Center  
      
    Search for current and controversial topics. Useful for developing arguments, writing position papers, and development of critical thinking skills. EBSCOhost
  • PubMed  
      
    PubMed, a free National Library of Medicine database, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals.
  • Research Library  
      
    An interdisciplinary database indexing more than 3,820 periodical titles, over 2,550 of which are full-text. ProQuest
  • Science Magazine  
      
    Access to the American Association for the Advancement of Science journal Science plus additional information including news reports, podcasts, videos, images, and more.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    Provides access to over 50 subscribed, full-text journals, including the journal, *Digital Investigation: The International Journal of Digital Forensics & Incident Response* and the reference book, *Encyclopedia of Virology*. Elsevier
  • SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)  
      
    The most complete collection of chemical information, with over 18 million abstracts of journal articles, etc. CAS
  • SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts) Registration Instructions  
    SciFinder registration information for first-time users.
  • Scirus  
      
    Scirus is a free, science-specific database indexing over 18 million full-text articles & abstracts, 13 million patents, and 167 million Web pages. NOTE: Check Andruss Library's 'Periodical Title List' for possible access to journal articles. Elsevier
  • Scitopia  
      
    A free, federated search portal which searches journal content, conference proceedings, and patents of 21 societies. Search results link to partner society sites for retrieval; if BU has an institutional subscription to the partner's library, you will be able to access the full text.
  • SPIN Web  
      
    To search, click on radio button for "SPIN." Full-text access to *American Journal of Physics*, *The Physics Teacher*, and *Physical Review Letters*. If you are prompted for user name and password, we do not have access to that journal in SPIN. Scitation
  • Web of Science  
      
    Provides access to ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. SCI indexes 6400+ major journals across 71 disciplines, and SSCI covers 1800+ social sciences journals spanning 54 disciplines. 1986 to the present. ISI
  • WorldCat  
      
    Use this database to search the holdings of libraries worldwide. OCLC FirstSearch
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait