Books & Gray LiteratureImagesMagazines/JournalsNewspapers
Art & Art HistoryChildren's LiteratureCommunication StudiesEnglish & American LiteratureLanguages & CultureMass CommunicationMusicPhilosophyTheatre/Dance
AccountingBusiness EducationComputer & Information SystemsEconomicsFinanceManagementMarketing
Children's Literature
Allied Health SciencesAudiologyExercise Science & AthleticsNursingSpeech Pathology
Biological SciencesChemistryComputer ScienceEngineering TechnologyGeographyGeosciencesHealth PhysicsInstructional TechnologyMathematics & StatisticsPhysics
AnthropologyCriminal JusticeHistoryLegal StudiesPolitical SciencePsychologySocial WorkSociology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Databases by Subject 

Use this guide to identify library databases/indexes for a particular discipline or subject domain. Databases provide access to high quality information.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.bloomu.edu/dbsubject  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Medicine/Health            Print Page
  

Medicine/Health Disciplines

 

Does the Library have a journal?




 

How do I search for a journal?

 

Quick Search for Books

Search for a book in PILOT (the library catalog):

  Quick Search
 


How do I search PILOT?

 

Medicine/Health Databases

  • ABI/Inform  
      
    Indexes approximately 2,890 business periodicals and newspapers with full text for for about 1,920 (including the Wall Street Journal). 1971 - present. ProQuest
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 9,990 magazines and journals, more than 5,990 of which are full-text. Also indexes monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1887 - present. EBSCOhost
  • Alt Health Watch  
      
    Provides access to complementary and alternative medicine literature published in over 180 full text publications (including some peer-reviewed journals). 1984 - present. EBSCOhost
  • Annual Reviews  
      
    Synthesizes primary research literature in 29 scientific disciplines in the Biomedical, Physical, and Social sciences. 1930 - present.
  • CINAHL  
      
    The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature database indexes over 2,900 journals. Full text material includes 72 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials. EBSCOhost
  • Cochrane Library  
      
    Systematic literature reviews of healthcare interventions. '1 user' license. Wiley
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete  
      
    Indexes 660+ journals in communications and mass media literature; 350 of these are full text. In addition to the Communication Thesaurus, also includes over 5,000 Author Profiles. EBSCOhost
  • CQ Researcher  
      
    Reports on social issues, environment, health, education, and science and technology written by journalists and featuring comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. '5 users' license.
  • ERIC  
      
    Provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. EBSCOhost
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Use Google's search engine for "scholarly literature" via the Andruss Library Web site to link to subscribed sources on and off-campus. Look for "CheckAvailability@BloomU" or "FullText@BloomU" links.
  • Health Source: Consumer Education  
      
    Indexing for nearly 600 periodicals (half in full text) as well as pamphlets and book sections for general health, nutrition and professional health care. EBSCOhost
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  
      
    Provides access to 550+ scholarly full text journals, most of which are peer-reviewed. Indexes and abstracts an additional 800+ journals. EBSCOhost
  • IOPscience  
      
    Provides access to over 80 full-text journals in physics, across scientific, technical and medical disciplines. Institute of Physics
  • Journals@Ovid  
      
    Full-text for 25 health care journals and searchable abstracts for more than 2,000 health science & science journals. To limit to full-text, check "Ovid Full Text Available" near bottom of search screen. OVID
  • JSTOR  
      
    A searchable collection of over 600 full text journals, some dating back to the 19th century. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
  • MEDLINE  
      
    Provides abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals indexed by the National Library of Medicine. EBSCOhost
  • PsycINFO  
      
    Citations and/or summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports for psychology and related disciplines from nearly 2000 journals, 1887 - present. EBSCOhost
  • PubMed  
      
    PubMed, a free National Library of Medicine database, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals.
  • Research Library  
      
    An interdisciplinary database indexing more than 3,820 periodical titles, over 2,550 of which are full-text. ProQuest
  • Sage Journals Online  
      
    Over 460 full-text journals in business, humanities, education, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.
  • Scitopia  
      
    A free, federated search portal which searches journal content, conference proceedings, and patents of 21 societies. Search results link to partner society sites for retrieval; if BU has an institutional subscription to the partner's library, you will be able to access the full text.
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text  
      
    Indexes books and journals for exercise physiology, sports medicine, physical therapy, physical fitness, training, coaching, etc. Journal coverage ranges from 1985 to the present; over half of journals are full text. EBSCOhost
  • Web of Science  
      
    Provides access to ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. SCI indexes 6400+ major journals across 71 disciplines, and SSCI covers 1800+ social sciences journals spanning 54 disciplines. 1986 to the present. ISI
  • WorldCat  
      
    Use this database to search the holdings of libraries worldwide. OCLC FirstSearch
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait