Books & Gray LiteratureImagesMagazines/JournalsNewspapers
Art & Art HistoryChildren's LiteratureCommunication StudiesEnglish & American LiteratureLanguages & CultureMass CommunicationMusicPhilosophyTheatre/Dance
AccountingBusiness EducationComputer & Information SystemsEconomicsFinanceManagementMarketing
Children's Literature
Allied Health SciencesAudiologyExercise Science & AthleticsNursingSpeech Pathology
Biological SciencesChemistryComputer ScienceEngineering TechnologyGeographyGeosciencesHealth PhysicsInstructional TechnologyMathematics & StatisticsPhysics
AnthropologyCriminal JusticeHistoryLegal StudiesPolitical SciencePsychologySocial WorkSociology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Databases by Subject 

Use this guide to identify library databases/indexes for a particular discipline or subject domain. Databases provide access to high quality information.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.bloomu.edu/dbsubject  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Arts & Humanities            Print Page
  

A & H Disciplines

 

'Discovery Search' for Articles

Use 'Discovery Search' to search the Arts & Humanities databases:

How do I use Discovery Search?

 

Arts & Humanities Databases

This is a list of general (interdisciplinary) and subject-specific databases for the arts and humanties. Also consult Encyclopedias, etc. for reference works in the arts and humanies.

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 9,990 magazines and journals, more than 5,990 of which are full-text. Also indexes monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1887 - present. EBSCOhost
  • AHSearch  
      
    ISI's Arts & Humanities Citation Index, indexing over 5400 periodicals. 1980 - present. OCLC FirstSearch
  • AP Images  
      
    AP photos, graphics (maps, charts, graphs, logos, etc.), and 4600+ hours of audio clips (1920 - present).
  • Art Full Text  
      
    Provides full-text for approximately 160 journals from 1997 to the present. In addition, indexes 480+ periodicals from 1984 - present. Wilson Web
  • ARTstor  
      
    ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
  • CAIRSS for Music  
      
    Citations from 1,354 different music journals. Covers music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete  
      
    Indexes 660+ journals in communications and mass media literature; 350 of these are full text. In addition to the Communication Thesaurus, also includes over 5,000 Author Profiles. EBSCOhost
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography  
    Provides access to the entire print DLB, including nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including historians, journalists, publishers, and screenwriters. Gale
  • Early American Newspapers, Series II and III  
      
    Online access to digitized collections of over 200 American newspapers dating from 1758-1900 (Series II) and 1829-1922 (Series III) from across the United States. Readex
  • Essay and General Literature Index  
      
    Indexes nearly 65,000 essays found in over 5,300 printed anthologies and collections published in the U.S., Great Britain, and Canada. Wilson Web
  • Grove Music  
      
    The Grove Dictionary of Music Online now includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Oxford University Press
  • Humanities International Complete  
      
    Provides full text of over 770 journals, books and other published sources from around the world, covering all aspects of the humanities. EBSCOhost
  • In the First Person  
      
    Primary sources (first-person English language narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories). Contains both free and subscription materials, to which Library does not subscribe. Alexander Street Press
  • JSTOR  
      
    A searchable collection of over 600 full text journals, some dating back to the 19th century. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic  
      
    Searches across business, legal, news information sources in a single interface. Includes newspapers and new magazines from the U.S. and around the world; TV and radio broadcast transcripts; wire services; business news and analysis publications, and so on.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts  
      
    Indexes 600+ periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Covers librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. EBSCOhost
  • MLA International Bibliography  
      
    A bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. It has citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. EBSCOhost
  • Music Index  
      
    Coverage from 1976 to the present. Indexes 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages. EBSCOhost
  • Newspaper Source  
      
    Selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. EBSCOhost
  • Philosopher's Index  
      
    Abstracts for books and over 450 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
  • Play Index  
      
    Indexes over 30,000 plays written from antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Wilson Web
  • Project MUSE  
      
    A searchable collection of over 300 full text academic press journals covering literature, history, the arts, education, philosophy, political science and more. The Johns Hopkins University Press
  • ProQuest Newspapers  
      
    Citations from over 25 papers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. ProQuest
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection  
      
    Contains more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. EBSCOhost
  • Research Library  
      
    An interdisciplinary database indexing more than 3,820 periodical titles, over 2,550 of which are full-text. ProQuest
  • World Shakespeare Bibliography Online  
      
    Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, etc. related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1968 to the present. Shakespeare Quarterly
  • WorldCat  
      
    Use this database to search the holdings of libraries worldwide. OCLC FirstSearch
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait