Begin with these
The General or Interdisciplinary databases (at right) are a good place to begin most searches. They have information on multiple disciplines and are especially appropriate for interdisciplinary topics.
Click on the following links (or use the subtabs above) to display only those databases which index Books & Gray Literature, Images, Newspapers and Periodicals.
You can search the databases one by one, or use the Quick Search box below, which will search multiple databases at once. If you have any questions, consult with a Reference Librarian.
Quick Search for Articles
Quick Search for Books
Search for a book in PILOT (the library catalog):
General or Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete

Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASC indexes over 9,990 magazines and journals, more than 5,990 of which are full-text. Also indexes monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1887 - present. EBSCOhost - AP Images

AP photos, graphics (maps, charts, graphs, logos, etc.), and 4600+ hours of audio clips (1920 - present). - ARTstor

ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. - Black Newspapers

Contains the full-text *Afro-American Red Star*, *Chicago Defender*, *Michigan Chronicle*, *New York Amsterdam News*, *Los Angeles Sentinel*. Indexes and abstracts *Call & Post*, *Houston Post*, *Muslim Journal*, *New Journal & Guide*. ProQuest - Chronicle Campuswide

Contains current issue of *The Chronicle of Higher Education* and the entire backfile back to September 1989 plus additional content. - CQ Researcher

Reports on social issues, environment, health, education, and science and technology written by journalists and featuring comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. '5 users' license. - Dissertation Abstracts

Dissertation Abstracts Online is searchable by author, subject, title, advisor, etc. OCLC FirstSearch - Early American Newspapers, Series II and III

Online access to digitized collections of over 200 American newspapers dating from 1758-1900 (Series II) and 1829-1922 (Series III) from across the United States. Readex - EBSCOhost EJS
EJS (Electronic Journals Service) provides a gateway to many electronic journal subscriptions not available through other databases. Users may browse available journals or search for specific journals or articles. - Google Scholar

Use Google's search engine for "scholarly literature" via the Andruss Library Web site to link to subscribed sources on and off-campus. Look for "CheckAvailability@BloomU" or "FullText@BloomU" links. - GPO

The finding tool for federal publications. Direct links to those available online are provided. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. U. S. Government Printing Office - Image Collection

Search for images across multiple EBSCOhost databases including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, EBSCO Animals, Education Research Complete, GreenFILE, and SPORTDiscus with Full Text. EBSCOhost - IngentaConnect

The free service provides article summaries from over 31,700 publications, with links to full-text journals to which Andruss Library subscribes. - JSTOR

A searchable collection of over 600 full text journals, some dating back to the 19th century. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed. - JSTOR TUTORIAL View a 4 minute 31 second video tutorial on how to search JSTOR.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic

Searches across business, legal, news information sources in a single interface. Includes newspapers and new magazines from the U.S. and around the world; TV and radio broadcast transcripts; wire services; business news and analysis publications, and so on. - Library Literature & Information Science Full Text

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text indexes more than 234 library and information science periodicals. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed. Wilson Web - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Indexes 600+ periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Covers librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. EBSCOhost - NetLibrary

A catalog of over 50,000 ebooks. Funded by Pennsylvania Legislature and administered by Pennsylvania Department Education, Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Bureau of Library Development. - Newspaper Source

Selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. EBSCOhost - NoveList Plus Comprehensive readers' advisory for fiction. Search for titles based on level, subject, title or author. EBSCOhost
- Papers First

Papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library. OCLC FirstSearch - Points of View Reference Center

Search for current and controversial topics. Useful for developing arguments, writing position papers, and development of critical thinking skills. EBSCOhost - Proceedings First

An index of conference publications. OCLC FirstSearch - Project MUSE

A searchable collection of over 300 full text academic press journals covering literature, history, the arts, education, philosophy, political science and more. The Johns Hopkins University Press - ProQuest Classic

Contains all the ProQuest databases: ABI/Inform, ProQuest Newspapers, and Research Library. ProQuest - ProQuest Newspapers

Citations from over 25 papers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. ProQuest - Research Library

An interdisciplinary database indexing more than 3,820 periodical titles, over 2,550 of which are full-text. ProQuest - Sage Journals Online

Over 460 full-text journals in business, humanities, education, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. - Vocational and Career Collection

Provides coverage for 400 full text trade and industry-related journals and indexes 650 additional journals. EBSCOhost - Wall Street Journal

The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance. All citations are full text. ProQuest - Washington Post (1877 - 1992)

Historical Newspaper offering full page and article images with searchable full-text. (May NOT be searched in combination with non-historical databases.) ProQuest - Web of Science

Provides access to ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. SCI indexes 6400+ major journals across 71 disciplines, and SSCI covers 1800+ social sciences journals spanning 54 disciplines. 1986 to the present. ISI - Wiley Interscience

Provides access to 150+ full-text journals in the sciences, health sciences, and social sciences, including business, education, and psychology. Also provides abstracts to additional journals, books, and other materials. - World News Digest

Facts On File World News Digest since 1940 and selected content from Issues and Controversies On File, Today's Science On File, Editorials On File, Reuters On-Line News Service, etc. Facts on File - WorldCat
Use this database to search the holdings of libraries worldwide. OCLC FirstSearch
Encyclopedias, etc.
- American Heritage Dictionary

The 4th edition of the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, published in 2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company. EBSCOhost - APA Style Guide to Electronic References

Expanded and updated from the Electronic Resources section of the Fifth Edition of the *Publication Manual of the APA*. American Psychological Association - AP Images

AP photos, graphics (maps, charts, graphs, logos, etc.), and 4600+ hours of audio clips (1920 - present). - ARBAonline

Contains 15,000+ reference book reviews published in the American Reference Books Annual, beginning with Volume 28. 1997 - present. - College Blue Book

Electronic access to 6 volume set providing information on colleges & universities in the U.S. and Canada, their programs, degrees, and financial aid sources. Arranged geographically and by subject. Thomson-Gale - Contemporary Authors

Bio-Bibliographical Guide to Current Writers in Fiction, General Nonfiction, Poetry, Journalism, Drama, Motion Pictures, Television. Gale-Cengage - Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides access to the entire print DLB, including nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including historians, journalists, publishers, and screenwriters. Gale - Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Includes more than six hundred essays on approximately four hundred individuals, concepts, periods, theories, issues, and movements in the history of aesthetics, ranging from the most ancient aesthetic traditions around the world to the Greco-Roman era, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, Romanticism, Modernism, and Postmodernism, up to the present. Oxford University Press - Encyclopaedia of Islam Online

Full-text to the Encyclopedia of Islam (English), volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII). Search for keyword or browse the Table of Contents. Brill - Encyclopedia of Evolution

Articles on essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, covering both the history of the field and current controversies. Oxford University Press - Encyclopedia of GIS
Covers nearly 200 topics, including major overviews, such as Geoinformatics, Spatial Cognition, and Location-Based Services; shorter entries such as the Global Positioning System, Digital Elevation/Terrain Model, and Remote Sensing. Springer Link - Encyclopedia of Global Change

Addresses a host of topics pertaining to global change, e.g., tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, permafrost melt, etc. Oxford University Press - Encyclopedia of Social Problems

Over 600 entries on all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems. SAGE - Encyclopedia of Social Work

20th edition, published by the NASW Press and Oxford University Press. - Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment

Includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures. Oxford University Press - Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

All aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. Oxford University Press - Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry. EBSCOhost - Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture
More than 1000 articles spanning the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome as well as the earlier Minoan, Cycladic, Helladic (including Mycenaean) and Etruscan cultures. Oxford University Press - Image Collection

Search for images across multiple EBSCOhost databases including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, EBSCO Animals, Education Research Complete, GreenFILE, and SPORTDiscus with Full Text. EBSCOhost - International Encyclopedia of Dance

Covers all types of dance, plus music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers. Oxford University Press - International Encyclopedia of Linguistics

Full range of topics in linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Oxford University Press - OED Online

Online access to the Oxford English Dictionary, the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. Oxford University Press - Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium

1,100 years of Byzantine history. Oxford University Press - Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance

Covers the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
Oxford University Press - Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature

350 essays encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. Oxford University Press - Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt

The social, political, religious, cultural and artistic history of the 5,000-year civilization. Oxford University Press - Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature

History of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). Oxford University Press - Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature

Essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in countries throughout the world. Oxford University Press - Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History

Provides an overview of the history of economics. Oxford University Press - Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America

A history of food in America. Oxford University Press - Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States

Over 900 articles addressing such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Oxford University Press - Oxford Encyclopedia of Rhetoric

Contains approximately two hundred entries, ranging in size from very short for certain figures of speech to the longer entries such as the one on classical rhetoric. Oxford University Press - Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance

Covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performances. Oxford University Press - Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation

Covers not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. Oxford University Press - Reference Universe

Interdisciplinary index to over 10,000 specialized encyclopedias, compendia and handbooks, in both print and electronic formats. Customized to our Library, helps you identify the best resources to help you begin your research with truly authoritative articles. Paratext - Serials Directory

Contains over 182,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles and data from over 85,000 publishers worldwide. EBSCOhost - Ulrich's Web

Contains bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the worl
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait