This is the "Library Information & Services for BU Faculty" page of the "Library Resources for BU Faculty" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Resources for BU Faculty  

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.bloomu.edu/bufaculty Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Library Information & Services for BU Faculty Print Page
  Search: 
 

12 Research Aids for Faculty

  • Bloglines  
      
    RSS feed reader.
  • Chronicle Campuswide  
      
    Contains current issue of *The Chronicle of Higher Education* and the entire backfile back to September 1989 plus additional content. Register for a free account for mobile access using your Bloomsburg University email account, using the instructions here. Chronicle of Higher Education
  • Copyright Guide
    BU guide to copyright and its implications for the classroom.
  • Delicious  
      
    Social bookmarking
  • ebrary Academic Collection  
      
    70,000+ e-books in all academic subject areas. View a Research Guide on how to use ebrary here. View an 11-minute training video here. ebrary
  • Films On Demand  
      
    Streaming video to 20,000+ videos, searchable by title or clip, for educational use. For more information, consult this FAQ. View a Quick Start Guide' here. Films Media Group
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Google Scholar is one of the free research tools Google provides. Click on the 'More' to view even more or click here.
  • Interlibrary Loan Account  
      
    Use this link to access your interlibrary loan account; you will need your HuskyID and network password to use ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system. For a description of interlibrary loan services, click here.
  • Research Guides  
      
    Use this to identify discipline-specific resources. Or you can view discipline-specific databases by using this link to the Databases by Subject page.
  • My EBSCOhost  
      
    Access any subscription EBSCOHost database via our regular authentication process (like Academic Search Complete) and set up a personal My EBSCOhost account by clicking on the link in the upper right corner to Sign In.
  • Open WorldCat  
      
    This is the free version of WorldCat, with Web 2.0 features. To use the subscription version of WorldCat, which provides more options for searching, click here.
  • RefWorks  
      
    Subscription based, RefWorks can be used to create your own database of research. View the 'help' tutorials to learn more.
 

Remote Access

Remote access to the Library’s electronic journals and subscription databases from computers not connected to the University's network is available by using your ‘Lib #’ from an activated Bloomsburg University ID or by using the username and password you use to log onto oncampus computers. If you experience difficulty accessing the databases, call or email Linda Neyer, the Database Coordinator, (x4801, lneyer@bloomu.edu). Please provide as much information as possible regarding any error messages to pinpoint the problem.

 

ISIS

ISIS (Integrated Student Information System) provides access to student records and academic advising information. 

 

Reserve Materials

The Harvey Andruss Library maintains both traditional and electronic course reserves for faculty to use in order to make required course materials available to students. Traditional reserves include such items as library-owned or personal copies of books, musical and visual recordings, old exams, etc. Electronic reserves include scanned copies of articles, book chapters, and visual items such as photographs, paintings, objects d'art, etc. Traditional reserves are generally used in the library but can be copied for use off-site; electronic reserves, while frequently accessed from computers in the library, are most often used off-site. Items placed on Reserve need to have a Reserve Form filled out.  For more information about course reserves, please contact Lori Osborne, Reserves Coordinator, (389-4220), losborne@bloomu.edu.

For more information on the Library's reserve policy, visit this page.

 

Information Literacy Instruction

Librarians can help you and your students with your research needs. They offer library instruction for resources related to specific courses and workshops related to specific databases or resources. can teach the use of all library collections and services, including its electronic resources. It is best practice for library instruction to be course-related and linked to a specific course assignment.  Sessions may be scheduled in AL 243, the Library classroom, or in other classrooms on campus depending on availability.*

Request an instruction session(s) by contacting your department liaison librarian or by completing the Request for Library Instruction form. Groups not assigned liaison may also contact Michael Coffta, Coordinator of Library Instruction, 570-389-4124.

Please allow a two week lead time for scheduling and preparation. Please note that there is a growing number of tutorials available on our Web page

To learn more how the library can support you in the development of your students' information fluency, visit our Information Literacy page.

 

Library Assignments

If you plan to give your students a classroom assignment requiring library resources, we encourage you to contact your departmental library liaison. He/she can work with you, suggesting appropriate and relevant library resources as well as effective strategies for their use. We also encourage you to leave a copy of your assignment at the Research Center or with your liaison to enable the librarians to assist you and your students in the following ways:

  • Librarians can reinforce an assignment's instructions with students and direct them to appropriate information resources to complete the assignment.  They can also provide you with feedback on students' information literacy skills.
  • By being aware of classroom assignments, librarians can better work to maintain the Library's print and electronic resources so they sufficiently meet instructional needs.

To learn more how the library can support you in the development of your students' information fluency, visit our Information Literacy page.

 

General Library Research Tutorial

The Andruss Library's 'General Library Research Tutorial' consists of eight modules to help students develop their information-seeking and evaluation skills for their BU courses.  The tutorial takes between 2 - 4 hours and does not have to be completed in one sitting.

Tutorial Contents

Module 1 - Orientation to Andruss Library
Module 2 - Introduction to Types of Information
Module 3 - Searching a Database
Module 4 - Understanding Citations
Module 5 - Using Internet Sources
Module 6 - Evaluating Sources of Information
Module 7 - Information Ethics: Citing Sources and Fair Use
Module 8 - A Search Strategy for Research Papers and Speeches

You can assign the GLRT and its Quiz as a prerequisite for your course to be completed by a certain due date, most likely before students begin an information research assignment. After the due date, you can request a list of students who passed the Quiz from your liaison librarian. You'll receive the names of students who passed the Quiz with a score of 70% or greater, but not their actual scores.

Students can take the Quiz twice (questions are randomized) to achieve a passing score of 70%. If they do NOT pass after two attempts, they must make an appointment with a Librarian to reschedule a 3rd attempt. We recommend that faculty use some kind of incentive to make sure their students complete the GLRT and the Quiz by their assigned due date.

 

Interlibrary Loan

To request Books the Library does not own, use:

  • ILLiad   All Illiad requests are channeled through the ILL Office so they may take longer than E-ZBorrow requests.  Try E-ZBorrow first. You will need your HuskyID and network password to submit any requests via ILLiad.
  • EZBorrow/PALCI (Pennsylvania Academic Library Consortium, Inc.) is a network comprised of 50 academic libraries in Pennsylvania and surrounding states.You will need your Lib # (on your BU ID card) or your HuskyID and network password to submit any requests.

To request Articles the Library does not own use:

  • ILLiad  You will need your HuskyID and network password to submit any requests. 

Consult the Interlibrary Loan web page for more information, or contact Andrea Schwartz, Coordinator of Interlibrary Loan, 570-389-4218, aschwart@bloomu.edu.

 

BU Document Delivery Service

Faculty and students may also request electronic document delivery of print and microfilm journal articles owned by the library by using ILLiad, the library's interlibrary loan service. Copies of book chapters owned by the library may also be requested. You may fill out a form here or you may use the library's link resolver within our databases or Google Scholar to fill out the form automatically. To use the link resolver, look for links labelled 'Check Availability' or 'Article Linker' in your search results. 

For more information, call the Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery office at 570-389-4218.

 

Book Purchase Requests

Recommendations for the purchase of books, videos, compact discs, or other materials for the Library are welcome. The availability of funds and the appropriateness of the material to our collections will determine whether it will be purchased. Use our online request form to recommend a Book for Purchase (under Services).

For additional information or assistance in requesting library materials, please contact your Departmental Library Liaison.

Library book selection

  • GOBI
    Library representatives from the academic departments may log into their GOBI account. For more information, or if you would like to establish an account, please contact your library liaison.
 

Library FAQs

Find an Answer!

Or select one of the popular topics:  

Search the library's website:

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | Comment or suggestion? Let us know
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip