When to Cite Sources
For Research Papers and Other Writing Projects

When citing sources in research
papers, use a conventional style, such as APA, MLA, Chicago, or Turabian. Check with your instructor as to what style to use. Each
style specifies a uniform way of citing sources that will:
- Give an orderly appearance to your bibliography or reference
list
- Provide all the essential elements of information that a reader will need to locate the source.
For Speeches

When giving a speech, cite your
sources orally. Provide enough information to allow an audience member to
locate the source. Typically, you should include:
- author or creator
- title of the work
- date
Additionally, consider offering a brief statement about your source’s credibility by stating the source’s connection to the topic.
For PowerPoint Presentations

When you use PowerPoint, be sure to
cite sources for any direct quotations or images appearing on a slide.
Write the information in a small font in a textbox at the bottom of the slide
or under the image.
If you use a graphic from the
Internet, you should cite it, too, unless it is in the public domain
(freeware).
Your instructor may also expect you
to include a bibliography slide at the end of your slideshow. Your
bibliography should not take the place of appropriate oral citations offered
during your presentation.
More help in writing and citing
- Annotated Bibliographies - Online Writing Lab at Purdue This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS.
- Grading Standards for Papers Provides a rubric for grading papers.
- Peer Review in 5 Minutes Short video explaining concepts of peer-review.
- What is a Literature Review? This page from Wesleyan University Library provides a nice explanation of literature reviews.
- Writing a Thesis Statement
Another perspective on thesis statements from the writing lab at Purdue University.
General/Interdisciplinary citing help
RefWorks - Use this program to create your personal database of references which can then be formatted in minutes in a variety of citing styles, including AAA, APA, CSE, MLA, Turabian, and Chicago. View a tutorial on how to begin using RefWorks, or consult a reference librarian.
EndNote Web - Another web-based bibliographic management program like RefWorks that you can use to store your references and format them in a variety of citing styles. Contained within Web of Science database. More information...
Son of Citation Machine - Input citation data for a variety of sources and the Citation machine formats it (note limitations mentioned by its creator) in APA, MLA, Turabian, and Chicago styles. Last update: 2009.
How to Cite Electronic Sources - The Library of Congress shows how to cite media other than books and periodicals in APA, MLA, and Turabian styles. Last update: 08/08/06.
Research and Documentation - Originally published as a print book, Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age, Fourth Edition by Diane Hacker (2002). Documentation examples plus sample papers have been updated to reflect changes in MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE styles.
Print Style Guides
The following print style manuals are available in Andruss Library:
-
APA Style - Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Used in the social sciences (education, health sciences, psychology, business, etc.). APA style requirements and examples for all types of information sources are listed. Available at the Reference Desk of Andruss Library (2nd floor) APA Style (examples and guides)
- CSE Style - Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers.
"This manual is the seventh edition of the style manual that was first issued by the Council of Biology Editors (now the Council of Science Editors)..." Available at the Reference Desk of Andruss Library (2nd floor) CSE Style (examples and guides)
- MLA Style - MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
Used in the artis This book presents Modern Language Association's style requirements and provides examples for all types of information sources. Book is available at the Reference Desk of Andruss Library (2nd floor) MLA Style (examples and guides)
- Turabian/Chicago - A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
This book presents Turabian/Chicago style requirements and provides examples for all types of information sources. Book is available at the Reference Desk of Andruss Library (2nd floor) Turabian Style (examples and guides)
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait