Access PA Course Reserve Interlibrary Loan Online Catalog - PILOT PALCI Praxis Material Renewing Books World Cat 
Access Services Book Borrowing Book Purchases Computers Copying, Printing, Faxing & Laminating Department Liaisons Facilities for Disabilities Faculty Services In process request Interlibrary Loan Library Instruction Reference Services Reserve Policy Services of the Library
Government Information News & WeatherSubject Guides
1. Tutorials & More2. General Library Research Tutorial 3. How do I?... 4. Information Literacy5. Library Site Search
a. Databases A-Z b. Databases by Subject c. Periodical Title List d. General e. Arts & Humanities f. Business/Economics g. Education h. Medicine/Health i. Science/Tech/Math j. Social Sciences/Law k. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. l. Discovery Search 
AAA APAChicago/TurabianCSEMLARefWorks
Curriculum Digital Collection General Collection Government Documents Juvenile & Young Adult Microforms Newspapers Other Resources Oversized Books Periodicals Reference Reserve Special Collections University Archives 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Welcome to Bloomsburg University Library 

Last update: Nov 21st, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.bloomu.edu/content.php?pid=42181  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles & More            Print Page
  

Databases by Name

View a list of library databases, arranged alphabetically by name:

 

Does the Library have a journal?




 

How do I search for a journal?

 

Can I get an article the Library does not own?

If an article you need is not available from Andruss Library, you may request it through interlibrary loan at no charge. (Please note that interlibrary loan agreements do not allow the Library to request material we have in our own collection. Any requests for material we hold in our collections will be returned to you.)

Here are the steps to request an article through interlibrary loan:

1) Check the Periodical Title List first to make sure the library does not own the journal. 
2) Go to the Interlibrary Loan Request Form in ILLiad and log in with your Lib#. This is your Library Account number,found on your BU ID card lower left corner and also in STINF under 'Biographical Information'. Call the Circulation Desk (570-389-4205) for help if you cannot locate your Lib#.
3) If you have never used ILLiad before, you will need to register first using the link for First Time Users.
4) On the form, select the type of material you need, and fill in as much information as you have.
5) You will be notified via your BU email account when the article is available, in most cases electronically.
6) You can use the Article Linker link from within the library databases to navigate to the interlibrary loan form. Article Linker will display the link for ILLiad if the the library does not own the journal.

For questions (such as how long your request will take), please see further information provided on the Interlibrary Loan page of the Andruss Library website. If you need need assistance, ask for help at the Circulation Desk or Reference Desk.

 

Document Delivery

Occasionally you will find that an article will only be available in print format. For example, JAMA : the journal of the American Medical Association is available only in print, not online.

As a convenience, the Library provides desktop document delivery for faculty, graduate students, and undergraduate honors students.

To request an article via document delivery, send an email to Steven Wiist, Special Projects Librarian, with the complete citation information, requesting document delivery. He will have an electronic copy of the article sent to your email address at no charge.

To ensure you receive the article in a timely manner, please verify first that the article is not available electronically throughy the Periodical Title List.

 
 

'Discovery Search' for Articles

Use 'Discovery Search' to search all of the 'General' (interdisciplinary) databases:

How do I use Discovery Search?

Is it peer-reviewed?

Need to know if a journal is peer-reviewed? 

Most library databases let you limit your search to only peer-reviewed articles.  This source, Ulrich's Periodicals Directory, will let you verify if a particular journal is peer-reviewed. Search by journal title and then look for the column icon indicating that it's refereed (i.e. peer-reviewed).

ulrich

      
     

    Peer Review in 5 Minutes

    A bit fuzzy on what 'peer review' is? Then watch this brief video from North Carolina State University Libraries.

    "In 5 minutes, viewers of this video will become familiar with the peer-review process and understand its significance to new knowledge production and scholarly research." 

    Highly recommended!

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait