Skip to main content

What is available at Harvey Andruss Library? 

The librarians at Bloomsburg University work to curate resources specialized for the needs of our students, faculty, staff, and community. Our collections include current and old newspapers, magazines, academic publications, trade journals, children's books, government documents, encyclopedias, streaming video, vinyl records, CDs, DVDs, and even a few VHS. 

Begin your exploration of library resources with the orientation video. The tutorial will give you a tour of the library, the library website, and our chat service.

Search Everything @ BU

Search Everything @ BU

Found on the first tab in our search box, BU's "Search Everything" does not actually search the entire library holdings. Unlike Google, though, it searches resources collected just for BU. Search Everything @ BU provides a portal to the majority of our offerings and gives you a sortable, filterable scan of what is available and relevant to your search topic. This search includes the full library catalog (books, ebooks, etc), all of our EBSCO databases, JSTOR, and more.

 

Need to learn more about searching library resources? Try our research tutorial on searching.

Find Books, eBooks

Find books, media, and more in the library catalog.

 
 
 Course Reserves     |     Renew Books Online

 

Movies / Media Collections (1st floor)

TYPE    DESCRIPTION     BORROWING

Movies / Video Recordings

The Library has over 1000 VHS videotapes and DVDs (NOTE: the library has very few commercial motion pictures). They are located behind the Circulation Desk (see our floor plans), along with the CDs, and are searchable by title, title keyword, and video number in BU Books & More

The Library also provides online access to two streaming video collections on its A-Z Databases: Video pageFilms on Demand, with over 20,000 streaming videos, and Kanopy, with over 26,000 streaming videos.

Available for 1 week loan to all patrons with a valid BU ID. Videos are treated like phonograph records and CDs, with fines accruing hourly rather than daily.

Items charged out are subject to recall if needed for classroom instruction. Professors may place videos for course use on Reserve as they do books to ensure their availability when needed for viewing during class time.

Sound Recordings

The library has over 5,000 33 1/3 LPs and over 2,000 compact discs. Most of the recordings are of classical music, but there is also jazz, easy listening, rock, drama, and a variety of others. LPs are located in Compact Shelving on 2nd Floor. Compact discs are located behind the Circulation Desk (see our floor plans). Ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance.

Recordings are cataloged by composer (major works), artist, and type of music in our online catalog. A search by artist or type of music may be limited in the catalog to Location. Choose "Compact Disc Collection," or "Phonodisc Collection."

The Library also provides online access to Naxos, a streaming music collection with over 130,000 CDS, on its Databases A-Z: Audio page.

 

Scores

This library has several hundred musical scores. They are stored in various locations depending on their size. Those whose call number begins with the word "score" are stored in a two drawer file cabinet located at the northeast corner of the 1st Floor. In BU Books & More (online catalog) limit by Location and choose "Scores."

Scores may be checked out at the Circulation Desk for a 4 week loan.

Popular Reading Collection (1st floor) 

The library maintains a small collection of "fun" reading books, including Young Adult, mystery, fantasy, romance, thriller, and light nonfiction books.  These books are located on two double-sided, free-standing shelves near the Circulation Desk on the first floor.  Books are arranged by the author's last name.

Borrowing

Popular Reading books can be checked out at the Circulation Desk for 6 weeks. 

Ebooks

The Library also provides access to several large ebook collections, accessible here. The following two collections have more recent books:

Reference Collection (2nd floor)

The Library has both electronic and print reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, compendia of statistics, collections of quotations, indexes, etc. The reference collections are a great place to find facts and start your research.

  • Electronic reference books - many are listed on the Encyclopedias, etc. web page and in BU Books & More, the Library catalog. When searching the catalog, limit search to Full Text Online and Books and click on View It to link to the book.
    • Oxford English Dictionary  - OED is perhaps the most accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. Includes word histories, taxonomies, and sources of definitions, and is searchable by a number of categories of definitions.
  • Print reference books - search BU Books & More to find. Limit by Available in Library, and under Location select Reference Collection, noting the call number. The Reference Location is on the 2nd floor. Some special types of reference books include:
    • Atlases and Maps - Because of size and shape, many geographical atlases and all maps are not shelved in the Reference Collection but near it (see floor plans). These include:
      • ATLASES - Oversized geographical atlases are on wall shelves in the corridor near the beginning of the Reference Collection on the Second Floor. The other geographical atlases are found in the "G's" in the main Reference Collection.
      • MAPS - The cataloged maps are in a map case across from the atlas shelves on the Second Floor.  
    • Indexes and Abstracts - Indexes and Abstracts are used to identify articles published in journals/magazines/ newspapers. Our most heavily used indexes are the online databases. The Library also has several indexes in paper copy, located in the Reference Collection (2nd floor) or near the Microfilm Collection (1st floor)

Using Reference Books
Print reference books normally are not checked out. Readers may photocopy or scan pages of short sections of books they wish to read outside the library. Special loans are available for some reference books. Ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance.

General Collection (3rd & 4th floors)

The General Collection is the main circulating collection of the library with over 300,000 volumes. Books are checked out at the Circulation/Access Services Desk on the first floor. The General Collection uses the Library of Congress classification system:

  • Call numbers beginning with "A" through "N" are on the Third Floor
  • Call numbers beginning with "P" through "Z" are on the Fourth Floor

(View all floor plans here)

Oversize Books

Oversize books (those over 29 centimeters in height or 25 cm. in width) are shelved separately to maximize shelving and are designated as such in our catalog, for example, Get It: Harvey A. Andruss Call Number: General Collection OVERSIZE, 4th Floor, etc.. Oversize General Collection books are shelved after the normal size books on the Fourth Floor (see our floor plans).

Borrowing

Books from the General Collection may be borrowed for 6 weeks by BU students and by patrons with Pennsylvania Resident Borrower's cards. To obtain a PA Resident Borrower's Card, ask for an application at the first floor Access Services desk.

Ebooks

In addition to print (hard copy) books, the Library also provides access to several large ebook collections, accessible here.

- About Juvenile and Curriculum Collections

Juvenile / Young Adult Collection (2nd floor)

The Juvenile / Young Adult Collection contains fiction and non-fiction books written for a wide range of readers, from beginners through high school, appealing to both children and young adults. The collection includes all of the Caldecott and Newbery Award winning titles, as well as many other award-winners. 

Originally the library for the teacher training school (formerly housed in the Ben Franklin building), the collection continues to use the Dewey Decimal classification common to most school and public libraries. Books are shelved in either non-fiction or fiction sections as they are in school and public libraries. Oversize books are shelved at the end of the Juvenile / Young Adult Collection.

Borrowing

  • Books in the Juvenile / Young Adult Collection are shelved on the second floor and may be checked out at the Circulation Desk for 6 weeks.

 

Curriculum Collection (2nd floor)

The Curriculum Collection supports the faculty and students of the College of Education and addresses the specific needs of future teachers. The collection is comprised of educational methodology books, K-12th grade textbooks, big books, curriculum guides, audio-visual curriculum materials, and educational software. All of these materials can be searched in the online catalog, BU Books & More. The location of these materials is designated as Harvey A. Andruss Call Number: Curriculum Collection, etc., and call numbers on the spines of the books begin with "Cur" . These books are classified using Library of Congress Classification System. Oversize curriculum books are shelved at the end of the Curriculum Collection.

Borrowing

  • Books in this collection are shelved on the second floor, next to the Juvenile & Young Adult Collection (see floor plans), and they may be checked out for 6 weeks.
  • Educational videos and software are shelved behind the Circulation Desk on the first floor. They circulate for fourteen (14) days.

Search Articles and Journals

Find full-text articles in the Andruss Library databases.       


          

BU Journal List     |     Databases A-Z  |     Publication Finder

Periodical Collections (2nd & 4th floors)

Periodicals are items published periodically, or serially, like journals, newspapers, and magazines. In general, journals/newspapers/ magazines are an excellent source for more current information than books. The library provides electronic access to over 75,000 electronic journals/newspapers/magazines and subscribes to approximately 300 print journals/newspapers/magazines.

Use >>Publication Finder<< to view a list of all journals/newspapers/magazines available at BU

*IF THE JOURNAL IS IN PRINT (hard copy) --> then Publication Finder displays a BloomU Print Journals link to the library catalog (BU Books & More), which links to  information about the Library's print holdings (the volumes/issues available and the Collection in which it's shelved). 

Print periodicals cannot be checked out. You may scan, photocopy, or print desired articles. Ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance.

COLLECTION     LOCATION   ARRANGEMENT   DESCRIPTION
Current_Periodicals   2nd Floor   Alphabetical by title   Single paper issues kept for one year in shelves on the second floor.
Bound_Periodicals   4th Floor   Alphabetical by title   Older issues bound together in a 'volume' (book) for durability
Microfilm_Periodicals   1st floor   Alphabetical by title   Older issues filmed on 35mm microfilm reels for storage

 

*IF THE JOURNAL IS ELECTRONIC (full-text online) --> then Publication Finder displays link(s) to the full-text online journal(s) and/or database(s) with dates available, which connect to the journal.

TIPS: If searching for articles in journals, use library databases, NOT Publication Finder or BU Books & More (library catalog). Publication Finder is just a list of journals, and the catalog will only tell you if the Library subscribes to a journal, not what's in it. If questions, ask a librarian.

To do this: Use:     Here's how:

Find if the Library has a particular journal ("check our holdings")
Publication Finder Search by the Journal Title

Find an article on a topic in a journal ("search databases for a topic")
A-Z Databases  Select a discipline/subject, read the library database descriptions, pick a suitable database, and search it using your keywords
Find a particular article ("find a citation")
Citation Finder  or
Google Scholar

Citation Finder: search by DOI, PMID, or citation info 
Google Scholar: search by citation info (enable Library Links under Settings first)

- About Microform Collections

Microform (Newspaper) Collections (1st floor)

What is this? Andruss Library has a large collection of microforms, including microfilm, microfiche, or microprint (see below for definitions), located on the 1st floor. Most of these collections consist of monograph sets or closed serial sets with older, back issues of periodicals and newspapers (not online). To identify specific microforms, search the Microform Sets Database or the Newspaper Holdings Database separately. 

How do I use microforms? Students, faculty, staff, and members of the local community are welcome to come into the Library and use the microform collections. Newer microfilm scanners allow you to save pages to a USB drive or to email to yourself at no charge. Printing from the older Reader/Printer machines is also available for $.10/page. Ask for assistance at the Circulation Desk.

Find specific microforms/microfilm using these two separate databases, both of which contain onlly records, not full-text:

  • Microform Sets Database - identify titles and accession numbers of microform sets (also searchable below)
  • Newspaper Holdings Database - identify titles, dates, and locations for print or microform newspapers (also searchable below)
    NOTE: This database contains records of newspapers in paper copy or microform (microfilm or microfiche), not online full-text. For online full-text newspapers use the library's A-Z Databases: Newspaper page.

More about Andruss Library newspapers. The Library subscribes to over 30 current print newspapers, shelved near the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor, and many older print newspaper back issues are available in microfilm, also on the 1st floor. The Library also provides access to hundreds more newspapers electronically through its A-Z Databases: Newspaper page. The following chart explains what is available:

Online_Newspapers Many current newspapers are available full text electronically and may be identified and accessed using the library's A-Z Databases: Newspapers page or Publication Finder. Very few newspapers are available electronically prior to 1980, with some exceptions:  historical newspapers listed on the A-Z Databases: Newspaper page or the Underground Press sets below for the time period 1963 - 1985.
Genealogy_Research The Columbia County Historical and Genealogical Society has created databases for genealogical research linked from Newspaper Notices of Marriages and Deaths Found in the Columbia Democrat, Columbian, and Columbia County Republican. Contact the Columbia County Historical and Genealogical Society for genealogy research requests.
The_Underground_Press

Also known as the Underground Newspapers, this series provides access to more than 550 underground newspapers dating from 1963 to 1985. It is supplemented by materials from the Hoover Institution and the University of Missouri sets:

  • Underground Press Collection: Microfilm Series #748 in 476 Reels, Index: PN 4784.U53 1986
  • Underground Press Collection Hoover Institution Supplement: Microfilm Series #748 in 16 reels, Index: PN 4784.U53 U532 1986
  • Underground Press Collection University of Missouri: Microfilm Series #748UM in 9 reels, Index: PN 4784.U53 U533 1986

More about Microforms. Microforms are an older technology, using reduced photographic images of pages used to archive materials. Microfilm and microfiche were the two most popular archival media of the 20th century. Microform readers or reader/printers must be used to magnify the text to read/print, and these are also located on the 1st floor.

Definition of terms

Microfilm

The Andruss Library has purchased microfilm for back runs of many of its periodicals and newspapers, such as the New York Times, and most of these are 35mm microfilm reels. The reels are arranged alphabetically by publication title in the Microfilm shelves near the Reader/Printers. Numbered microfilm series follow those filed by title.

Microfiche

A typical microfiche is a 4" x 6" sheet of film. The library has acquired these for storage of reports, documents, and older books. Microfiche sets are in numbered series in the lower cabinets near the Microfilm shelves.

Microprint

While fiche and film are transparent, microprint is an opaque medium, seldom used by publishers today. Readex Microprint comprises the bulk of this collection, measuring roughly 9" X 5 7/8". These and other microcards roughly 3" X 5" in size are filed in cabinets preceding the microfiche on the First Floor.

Readers/Printers

The library provides several readers and reader/printers, including three newer machines that create digital images from microfilm; there are also older machines for microfiche and a single reader/printer for microprint. All machines are on the First Floor.

 


Microform Sets Database
Search By Keyword

Search Terms (e.g. American Colonial Records)

Terms searched:   All of these   Any of these

Check terms for spelling, then submit: 

 

Display All Records


Newspaper Holdings Database
Search By Keyword

Search Terms (e.g. Bloomsburg)

Terms searched:   All of these   Any of these

Check terms for spelling, then submit: 

 

Display All Records

Beyond BU Library Collections

What if something is not available at Harvey Andruss Library?

  • Andruss Library is able to loan or copy items through partnerships with other libraries using the EZBorrow and ILLiad services. To use either, gather information about the item you need (title, author, pages, etc) and submit a request. 
    Inter-library Loan Request Information and Forms
  • Bloomsburg Public Library is right down the street and offers library cards to residents of Town of Bloomsburg, Scott Township and Hemlock Township. If you have a valid card from another library with an Access sticker, you may get a card at no charge.
  • Still cannot find what you need? Cast a wider net, so to speak, and search over 10,000 libraries worldwide using WorldCat
  • State Library of Pennsylvania
    Link to the State Library's website, which includes extensive digital collections. BU faculty and staff may apply for a State Library library card, which allows remote access to most of their databases.

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Group Study Rooms

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000