Skip to main content

MGMT 456: International Business

This subject guide is designed to assist students with their research pertaining to management issues and trends associated with a given country.

Finding Articles

In order to find articles in a database, you must effectively communicate your information need to the database.

General Guidelines:

  1. Keep your first search simple
  2. Avoid using long phrases, sentences, or sentence fragments
  3. Use quotes (" ") to distinguish between phrases and keywords
  4. Use the search operators to form your search
  5. Observe the subject headings used by the database to group together articles, etc. on a given topic

 

Search Operators

Instead of simply typing in masses of keywords into a database search screen, take a moment to examine the following search operators that are common to many business databases.  Remember, you will need to formulate a search statement rather than simply typing a question or extensive phrase.

 

AND    

 Mandates the inclusion of the word or phrases somewhere in the record.

                        Example:          entrepreneurs and bank lines 


OR      

 Used to account for variety in expressing an idea. Records will contain any one of the words or phrases in the set, not necessarily all.

                        Example:          (learning or instruction or training) and (web or internet or online)

 


NOT    

 Excludes records containing a specified word or phrase. When using “not,” one must put “not” at the end of one’s search statement.

                        Example:          online learning not CD-ROM

 


Truncation      

 Utilized to account for varieties of a desired word.  The database will find records containing words beginning with the word chunk you provide.

For example, a search for manag* would retrieve records containing any of the following:

Management, managing, managers, etc.

Keep in mind that the truncation symbol changes from database to database.  For example, while EBSCO databases use the asterisk (*), LexisNexis uses the exclamation point (!).  Consult the respective databases' HELP screens to learn the truncation symbol for the given database.

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Group Study Rooms

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000