In order to find articles in a database, you must effectively communicate your information need to the database.
Instead of simply typing in masses of keywords into a database search screen, take a moment to examine the following search operators that are common to many business databases. Remember, you will need to formulate a search statement rather than simply typing a question or extensive phrase.
Mandates the inclusion of the word or phrases somewhere in the record.
Example: entrepreneurs and bank lines
Used to account for variety in expressing an idea. Records will contain any one of the words or phrases in the set, not necessarily all.
Example: (learning or instruction or training) and (web or internet or online)
Excludes records containing a specified word or phrase. When using “not,” one must put “not” at the end of one’s search statement.
Example: online learning not CD-ROM
Utilized to account for varieties of a desired word. The database will find records containing words beginning with the word chunk you provide.
For example, a search for manag* would retrieve records containing any of the following:
Management, managing, managers, etc.
Keep in mind that the truncation symbol changes from database to database. For example, while EBSCO databases use the asterisk (*), LexisNexis uses the exclamation point (!). Consult the respective databases' HELP screens to learn the truncation symbol for the given database.
Need Help with your Research?
For the Spring 2020 semester, I will be available for research consultations in the Sutliff Hall Center for Financial Analysis (SH 123).
Feb 17 - April 30
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM
9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, April 9
I can help you with the ZCOB's specialized software, such as Capital IQ.
If you need to make an appointment with me, please use the contact information to the right.
Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | email@example.com
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000