Skip to main content

Subject Area Concentrations: Intro

 Subject Area Concentrations

The Bloomsburg University Special Collections, located in the Archives area on the third floor of the Harvey A. Andruss Library, includes a large collection of monographs on a number of subject areas.  A number of these are a particular collecting focus.

These include a concentration of books on the topics of Circuses and Animal Training, in honor of Professor turned lion trainer George Keller.  Because of the close proximity to the Pennsylvania Anthracite Coal Region, a focus on Coal Mining and the Molly Maguires is included.  In recognition of the Tiffany and Spence stained glass windows located in the Library, the Special Collections contains books with a concentration on Tiffany and Stained Glass Windows.  Books about Trains and Trolleys are also included in interest of documenting the history of transportation in Pennsylvania.  With Columbia and Montour counties home to over 20 historic covered bridges, the Special Collections also includes books with a concentration on Covered Bridges.  

Use the links to the left to find a list of titles in each subject area, some including annotations and book covers.

*All books in this collection are available in the Andruss Library Special Collections, located in the University Archives area on the 3rd floor of the Harvey A. Andruss Library.*

Subject Area Concentrations: Links

 

Cecil Seronsy Collection

The following texts are part of the monographs in the Dr. Cecil Seronsy Collection of Renaissance literature, established in the Harvey A. Andruss Library in 1973 to honor his life and legacy of scholarship. Dr. Seronsy (1908-1981) was a faculty member in English at Bloomsburg University from 1953 until his 1973 retirement and an “internationally recognized scholar in Renaissance literature.” Over the course of his lifetime, he studied the works of such authors as Swift, Dryden, Wordsworth, Coleridge, Austen, and Poe. Additionally, Dr. Seronsy published one book, Samuel Daniel, in 1967, which was a “critical and biographical study on the Renaissance poet” Samuel Daniel. The esteem in which he was held was no better demonstrated than this quote from his obituary, “One of those rare scholar-teachers whose love of literature and ideas was shared with students, friends, and colleagues, Dr. Seronsy will be remembered by them as a teacher who was inspiring, a scholar whose intellectual curiosity was constant, and as a Renaissance man whose wit and humor will remain in the memory of those who knew him.” While Special Collections has books from his private collection, some of which are featured below, the University Archives maintains Seronsy’s personal papers, including notes and correspondence, both academic and personal.

Books About Circuses 

In honor of George Keller, former professor of Visual Arts at the Bloomsburg State Teachers College, turned lion trainer and circus performer, the Andruss Library Special Collections has over 30 books with a focus on Circuses and Wild Animal Training. 

Books About Animal Training 

In honor of George Keller, former professor of Visual Arts at the Bloomsburg State Teachers College, turned lion trainer and circus performer, the Andruss Library Special Collections has over 30 books with a focus on Circuses and Wild Animal Training. 

Books About Coal Mining 

The Andruss Library Special Collections has a concentration of books on the topic of Coal Mining (primarily anthracite) and the Molly Maguires. These include over 50 books about coal mining (mostly in Pennsylvania), over 25 books about the Molly Maguires, and 2 films about mining and the Molly Maguires.

Books About Molly Maguires 

The Andruss Library Special Collections has a concentration of books on the topic of Coal Mining (primarily anthracite) and the Molly Maguires. These include over 50 books about coal mining (mostly in Pennsylvania), over 25 books about the Molly Maguires, and 2 films about mining and the Molly Maguires.

Books About Tiffany Windows 

In recognition of the three Tiffany Windows and four Spence Windows located in the Bloomsburg University library, the Andruss Library Special Collections contains over 40 books with a focus on the art of Louis Comfort Tiffany and Stained Glass Windows.

Exhibition Catalog

Books About Stained Glass 

In recognition of the three Tiffany Windows and four Spence Windows located in the Bloomsburg University library, the Andruss Library Special Collections contains over 40 books with a focus on the art of Louis Comfort Tiffany and Stained Glass Windows.

Books About Trains & Railroads

In the interest of documenting the history of transportation in Pennsylvania, the Andruss Library Special Collections has over 30 concerning the history of Trains and Railroads, and over 15 books about Trolleycars and Street Railways.

Books About Trolleys

In the interest of documenting the history of transportation in Pennsylvania, the Andruss Library Special Collections has over 30 concerning the history of Trains and Railroads, and over 15 books about Trolleycars and Street Railways.

 

Books About Covered Bridges

Because Columbia and Montour counties are home to over 20 covered bridges the Andruss Library Special Collections contains a concentration of over 40 books on Covered Bridges, mostly in Pennsylvania but including titles from across the United States

Loading ...

Subject Librarians

Information Literacy Instruction

Off-Campus Access

Interlibrary Loan

Chronicle of Higher Education

Reserves/Fair Use

Ask Us

Research Consultations

Renew Books Online

Request a Purchase

Group Study Rooms

Open Computers

About Us 

Library Fines

PA Resident Cards

Suggestion Box

Employment

Giving to the Library

Andruss Library | 570-389-4205 | reference@bloomu.edu
©Copyright Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania • 400 East Second Street, Bloomsburg PA 17815-1301 • 570.389.4000